FINALLY!

I got a nibble on an application I sent in to a local community college a few weeks ago, and I went to the campus to meet with the department head this morning.  I came out of the meeting with three composition courses to teach.

While the courses are nothing exciting (they’re standard college comp classes; writing process and 5 standard essays per class), I’m excited about getting back into the classroom.  I’m still looking to expand my professional horizons beyond education – in fact, I have an interview with a grass-roots organizing committee this afternoon, which I’m hoping will yield some opportunities – but I’m really welcoming this offer.  I want to keep at least one toe in the education pool, and I was beginning to worry that I’d been out of it too long to get back in.

So!  Mrs. Chili is no longer unemployed (or, at least, she won’t be once the paperwork gets filed)!  PHEW!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “FINALLY!

  1. phillip.roderick@gccaz.edu

    Congrats Ms Chili. Though we are as far apart politically as possible, I have followed your blog for years, and grown to respect you in many ways. I am now a tenured English instructor at a local CC, and my first step in this journey was teaching a Saturday Eng 101 class. This could be the start of a full time position one day. I wish you all the best!

  2. Philip, THANK YOU! Chime in more often; I welcome dissent in this space!

  3. I am excited for you. The types of readings and discussions that can be generated in making your students better writers will not be an insurmountable task. Well, not with you guiding the way.

  4. Benesh McGrath Darci

    Yaaaaa…so happy for you!

  5. Terry

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! Congrats! What a good feeling 🙂

  6. Whew! Congratulations! Been following this for a while. Wishing you the best in your new role!

  7. Mamie

    YAY! So happy (and relieved) for you! You will, I am sure, make these classes into MORE THAN the “standard college comp” courses. Fabuloso!

  8. Jennifer

    Hurrah! Congratulations!

  9. Okay, let’s see if I can comment logged in via twitter…

  10. I CAN!!! Chili, you are awesome and you are just going to rock their socks off. 😀 I don’t know if I can comment anonymously, but this works just fine. Oh, also, if you want to know about div codes, try the html and css lessons at http://www.codecademy.com !

Leave a Reply

