Tap…Tap…. Is This Thing On?

I’m going to try to be a bit more proactive about posting here now that the school year is back up and running.  Carson mentioned to me the other day that he misses the Grammar Wednesday segments, so I’m going to work on being more consistent with them, too.  I’m working very hard on establishing a routine; I need something to fall back on so that I don’t miss anything important.

School started at Charter High last week, though we won’t start academic classes until we return from the Labor Day holiday.  Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday were devoted to community-building activities, and I found myself pleased that none of them devolved into the kumbaya sorts of things that such activities can often be.  I’m pretty sure I have all the new kids’ names memorized, though I may have to work on a couple of them when we get back, and it was good to see the returning kids again; I’m often surprised by how much I miss the little buggers when we’re away during the summer.

Irene pushed the start of Local U. classes from Monday to Wednesday, so I met my freshman writing class on Wednesday night.  I’ve got 23 kids in the class – which is a lot – but I’ve made the decision to make the writing exercises we do in class pass/fail sorts of propositions and devote the heavy grading to the major papers.  When I see them again next Wednesday, they’ll write an in-class assignment about who they are as readers and writers and about what they want to get out of our class, they’ll take a no-stress punctuation quiz (‘no-stress’ because it won’t be graded; I only want to get a feel for where everyone is), then I’ll do my writing process lesson.  That should take the whole class; I’ll send them home with instructions to brainstorm some topics for a personal narrative, their first paper.

My children seem to be settling into their new school situations pretty well.  Punkin’ is rockin’ the freshman year so far; her only complaint to date is that she’s got phys. ed. first period for the first semester, and she’s not exactly thrilled about that, but everything else seems really hopeful and positive.  Bean’s in 7th grade this year, and she came home from her first day of school with the proclamation that her teachers are awesome and she’s just certain she’s going to have a fantastic year. I have no doubt that she will, and I think that will be true for the rest of us, too.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Tap…Tap…. Is This Thing On?

  1. Darci

    Would you mind sharing your punctuation quiz?…this is a push for me with my 8th graders and i would love to see what you are looking for in a U setting. ;>

  2. M

    If I ever have kids, I’m going to make them go live somewhere else for the two years of middle school. I’m glad your little one is content there!

  3. Jen

    I’m glad you’re bringing back the Grammar Wednesdays…I’ve missed them, too, but have never gotten around to letting you know it. I hope your year continues as well as it seems to have begun!

Leave a Reply

