My Contribution

I just added up all the receipts for books, videos, furniture (bookcases), and supplies (pens, paper, ink) that I bought for my classroom last year.

My personal (financial) contribution to the success of my students amounted to $3,597.25.

I’m going to try very, very hard to rein that in this year because it just doesn’t seem right that I should be spending that much of my own money when I’m earning so little in return.  That being said, though, I’m going to continue to buy the things I need in order to do my job to the best of my ability.  Anything less would be unethical.

Now I just hope that Mr. Chili doesn’t pop a vein when he sits down to do our taxes.  Thank the Goddess that most (if not all) of those expenditures are deductible….

Leave a comment

Filed under book geek, concerns, failure, frustrations, General Griping, I can't make this shit up..., lesson planning, out in the real world, really?!, Teaching, The Job, Yikes!, You're kidding...right?

Leave a Reply

