One Down…

… and I don’t know how many more to go, but it’s all good…

This was a great (though short) week. We managed to get through two rounds of orientation on Monday (one for the incoming kids and one for the returning ones) and started classes on Tuesday. With a couple of notable exceptions, everything went beautifully.

I’ve got an awesome bunch of kids. I’m delighted to have back some of my favorites from my previous classes, and I’m excited to have some kids that I met during lunches and common times in my classes for the first time. I’ve also got a bunch of brand-new freshmen (and a couple of never-been-to-CHS-before juniors) that I’m already starting to love. Really; in three days, I’ve developed quite an affinity for a number of them (though I’m not sure that they quite know what to do with me yet…).

On the downside, I’ve got some real issues with how the board is handling the operation of the school. While I understand that we need someone to see the big picture and take the long view (while we’re in the trenches dealing with the minutiae), I want to point out that the minutiae is often very, very important to the day-to-day running of a school.

Example? We ran out of copier paper on day two. DAY TWO, People. Last year, I made some noise and got a bit of hardware installed on our photocopier that would turn the sheets we fed into the thing to PDFs, which we could then email to ourselves and post on our websites so the kids could access much of our material paperless. Great idea, right? Well, only HALF the work got done; the hardware got installed in short order, so the printer is ready to make PDFs, but the software isn’t working so she can’t get them out of her brain – it is still not possible to email the files out of the printer, so the whole scheme is essentially useless. We’ve got the business machine people pointing to the cable company as the problem, and the cable company pointing to the business machine people, and I’m standing in the middle unable to do my job because I’ve got no books, no paper, and no way to get PDFs to the kids. So. Not. Cool.

I’m choosing to look at the positive, though. I’m back doing the work that I love. I’m working with top-notch people who take their jobs as seriously as I do mine. I’ve got great, funny kids. I’m excited about some of the work I’ve got planned. I’ve been saying for a while now that I’ve got a really good feeling about this year, and that good feeling hasn’t let up yet. I hope it’s the same for you.

3 Comments

Filed under book geek, colleagues, concerns, failure, frustrations, I love my job, I've got this kid...., really?!, Teaching, the good ones, The Job, winging it

3 responses to “One Down…

  1. I just finished my own back-t0-school post and had to laugh at how similar the sentiment is in yours! “Yippee yay!” about the teaching and the students and “Grumble, grumble” about the management of the school… And I didn’t even get into the fact that all of the fabulous new technology updates, installations, and improvements have rendered us completely incapable of actually using said technology on when we welcome the students on Tuesday. BUT, more importantly, I hope your year is off to a great start! : )

    • See, though, my problem isn’t with my boss – it’s with the people just above my boss. They don’t seem to get it, and it’s frustrating me that not only are we not getting what we need (not want, mind, but NEED) to do our jobs, but that she has to be caught between our bitching and their nonchalance. Grrr…

      Welcome back to blogging, by the way! I’m looking forward to seeing what this year brings you!

  2. It never fails to amaze me how many people higher up the chain of command simply don’t understand that the “big picture” is made up of all the “little pictures.”

    How does the old saying go – “a chain is only as strong as it’s weakest link?” If you don’t take care of all the little individual links, eventually your big, mighty chain is going to fall apart.

Leave a Reply

