Student-Parent-Teacher Conferences

Our mid-term student-led conferences start tomorrow (and of course, the weather’s going to be crappy for the three days we’ve got conferences scheduled.  I like to dress a bit more formally for parent conference days than I do otherwise – I trot out the really nice teacher clothes to meet parents – but I hate wearing skirts when it’s raining and cold outside.  Sigh).

Anyway, I didn’t start this post to bitch about the lack of sympathy between my wardrobe and the weather; I started this post so I could put this up:

I’ve got 15 kids in my junior-senior class and 10 in my writing class.  Six kids are passing in the first and only one is passing in the second.  I’m not alone in my angst, either; one of my colleagues has a pair of kids with the same single-digit average.

Perhaps I should print Gandalf out and put him up in the conference room so we can all refer to it when the parents wonder why their children are crashing and burning…

6 Comments

Filed under failure

6 responses to “Student-Parent-Teacher Conferences

  1. Let me know if it works.

    Mine think it’s ok to cheat because they don’t know how to do it because they don’t do the daily work. Sigh.

  2. Really, my students’ problem isn’t that they don’t study, it’s that they don’t bother doing any of the work I assign (I thought of rewriting the caption, but it works the way it is). Since I don’t give tests as a regular practice, the work – combined with their ability to participate in class conversations – is how I judge their mastery of the material. Many, many of the narratives I wrote for these upcoming conference were some variation on the “Joe Student has not turned in sufficient work for me to judge his capacity in our English class” theme.

    Sigh

  3. I am happy to say that we do not have this. I would go mad.

  4. This just amazes me. When I was in school, it was rare when people were failing class. Things are changing.

  5. I could loan you my Gandalf figure that says that line (50% of the time) if you’d like. 🙂

  6. It’s amazing isn’t it? No, you will not pass the class if you do not do the work or read the book. How difficult is that to understand?

Leave a Reply

