Quick Hit: EVERY LAST ONE OF THEM!

Check this out; a charter school in the Chicago area has managed to get every single member of its (very first) graduating class into a four year college.

Their creed makes me well up:

The Urban Prep Creed

We believe.
We are the young men of Urban Prep.
We are college bound.
We are exceptional-not because we say it, but because we work hard at it.
We will not falter in the face of any obstacle placed before us.
We are dedicated, committed and focused.
We never succumb to mediocrity, uncertainty or fear.
We never fail because we never give up.
We make no excuses.
We choose to live honestly, nonviolently and honorably.
We respect ourselves and, in doing so, respect all people.
We have a future for which we are accountable.
We have a responsibility to our families, community and world.
We are our brothers’ keepers.
We believe in ourselves.
We believe in each other.
We believe in Urban Prep.
WE BELIEVE.

How awesome is that?  I’ve got an email in to them to see if they’re willing to share their best practices, and I’m planning, along with my director, to make our next teacher workshop day about how we’re going to get CHS in this league.

4 Comments

Filed under admiration, colleagues, I love my job, success!, Teaching, the good ones

4 responses to “Quick Hit: EVERY LAST ONE OF THEM!

  1. I know you will, but I wanted to ask that you share so we don’t flood them with requests.

    That is awesome!!

    I may have to finally do the belief day I was planning on (look up Auburn’s Creed).

  2. Ricochet, you KNOW I’m going to share – it’s what I do!

    SW, doesn’t it give you shivers? I sent this email to my boss, then found her on instant message later in the day. One of the first things she said? “I WANT UNIFORMS!!!”

    It’s exciting to be on the proverbial ground floor of something like this. I would have liked to have been a part of this school when it first opened (I fear there’s been some wasted time), but we’re all on the same page now and we’re jazzed to make this work.

  3. When you lack what others have, only two things can emerge from that: 1) you enter into a life of crime to get it.
    2) Or, you get the best darn education you can get to bring about change. I like that they are all about number two.

Leave a Reply

