Technical Support

Do any of you use a web page for your classes?  If you do, have you figured a way for students to be able to submit homework in such a way that you’re the only one who can see it?

Here’s the thing; I’ve set a Ning site up for my class, and I really like it.  I put the homework on the forum every day (no one can say they didn’t know what the homework was), and there’s space for lots of other things on the page, as well – a blog and notes and photos and video and… well, you get the idea.

What there isn’t though, and what I’d really like, is some way for students to submit work to me in such a way that I’m the only one who can see it.  I considered having the blog be the homework site – I’d post the assignment and students could comment for their responses – but the problem with that is that comments are public; the first kid to answer the question provides the answer (or, at the very least, the inspriation) to everyone who posts afterward.

So, I’m looking for advice.  Do any of you use an online forum for your classes and, if so, what are the details?

8 Comments

Filed under colleagues, frustrations, out in the real world

8 responses to “Technical Support

  1. successwarrior

    In my classes, the assignments are submitted through a program but the same could be done just by attaching the homework to an email. My instructors set guidelines on the formats that they will accept. The difference between the program and just the email is that the program keeps track of what we have submitted and what we have yet to submit and the instructor can leave notes on the site (but I’ve had instructors that preferred to leave notes on the homework itself and return it to me).

  2. Can you moderate comments on your ning? Automatically keep them all in moderation until the assignment is due, say?

    • I just went to check my profile in a ning, and the comments made on my wall, above that section, when I click Edit, I get the question:

      Let me approve comments before posting?

      * No – post comments immediately
      * Yes – approve comments first

      So on your Ning page (as well as on your blog site) you could moderate comments so they couldn’t feed off previous responses.

  3. I use Blackboard and it allows you to determine whether the students can see the answers. You can also set a date after which all the answers are visible. I haven’t used that function yet so I don’t know how effective it is, but in theory it sounds like what you are looking for.

  4. Our district uses Moodle. It’s ok, a bit complicated, but it does allow submissions to be directed just to the teacher.

  5. Crystal

    I use edmodo.com. It’s a newer site that is like a “facebook for education”. You can post assignments and grade them right on the site, and you can see what students have/have not turned them in, etc. I love it!

  6. We use turnitin.com, but mostly only for essays and stuff, not daily homework. Daily homework is just brought to class, not submitted online.

  7. I use a blog to post daily lesson plans. Sometimes I have them post via the blog through a form I create in Google Docs. For example…http://writingright10.blogspot.com/2009/09/sept-3-right-on-targit.html

    More often they email me assignments…really gets crazy when all of them are submitting at one time!

    I have a homework dropbox on my teacher website via our school website. Just got that set up this past week and have not started using it yet…here it is…http://batesvilleschools.org/education/components/form/default.php?sectiondetailid=4674&

    In other words? I am still trying to find the answer to this one too!

Leave a Reply

