Grrrrr

My freshmen are pissing me off.

I am nothing if not very, very clear about what I expect my students to do.  Exceedingly clear.  Crystal, in fact.  Annoyingly, comprehensively, astoundingly clear.  Clear to the point of not only telling the students what I want them to do, but also writing it on the board AND posting the assignment (in full and articulate detail) on our class website.

And still, they come to class unprepared.

It’s enough to send me right over the edge.

Take today, for example.  They were supposed to come to class with two things; a second draft of their papers, and a copy of The Book Thief to begin reading in class.

Can you guess how many of them came completely prepared?

Up until now, things have been pretty easygoing and fun in class.  Today, I laid it down.  I think that some of them are a little afraid of me right now, and I’m perfectly okay with that.  They’re not kindergarteners anymore; I fully intend to hold them accountable for their stuff, especially when I’m being so – have I mentioned it already – so incredibly clear about what I’m expecting.

8 Comments

Filed under dumbassery, failure, frustrations, Teaching, That's your EXCUSE?!, You're kidding...right?

8 responses to “Grrrrr

  1. sphyrnatude

    way long ago in my early undergrad days, I had an instructor that had a similar problem (it was a lit class, and as the semester progressed, it became clear that only a few of the students actually read the assignments).
    One day, she started class by asking for a show of hands – who had actually prepared for class. She then asked all the other students to leave, as they weren’t prepared. Stunned silence, followed by a VERY quick shuffling of papers and exodus.
    Didn’t completely stop the problem, but certainly curtailed it….

  2. Uh huh. Yup. Welcome to high school! Are you feeling the years of pain of which I have written? LOL

  3. You expect them to be prepared? What kind of freak are you?
    I get tickled if they remember my name from day to day little lone bring a pen and paper.

    A book?
    bring a book?

    What ever. You one crazy lady

    LOL

    TV

  4. Sphyrnatude, this actually IS an avenue available to me. One of my colleagues has that block off, so I can kick kids out of my room and know that they’ll not have the period “off.” In fact, I’m bringing in my “folder of torture,” a folder full of mind-numbingly boring grammar worksheets, just for the occasion.

    Chatty, I’ve known this feeling for a while – remember my TCC cretins? I didn’t say I was surprised by it, but it is pissing me off.

    TV, I AM a freak, and you know it. And damn straight I expect them to be prepared, dammit. I’m not fooling around…

  5. Michael

    Give ’em hell, Mrs. Chili!!!!

  6. magicalmysticalteacher

    I know this is no laughing matter, but darn it, Chili, I’m laughing anyway! 🙂

  7. I am reminded of the day I went off on one of my internship classes for their repeated failure to do their homework assignments.

    When I was done, one of the female students in the back meekly whimpered, “Mr. Falcon, you’re scaring me!”

    Which was perfectly fine with me. Whatever it took to motivate them to do their damn work.

    Only problem? She was one of the best students in the class! She had nothing to be afraid of (which I made her clearly aware of)!

  8. This is the kinds of stuff that makes me glad I teach Honors classes. The Honors kids don’t require much prompting to come prepared – they’re so stressed about getting straight A’s that it wouldn’t occur to them to slack off anyway. 😛

Leave a Reply

