BOOKS!

I love Dover Thrift Editions!!  Sixty books; a hundred bucks.  I’ve got enough books for each of my classes!  WOOT!

photo

I got twenty copies each of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, Twain’s Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and Orne Jewett’s Country of the Pointed Firs.  I’m not sure if I’m going to use Huck Finn this year (I’m making a huge admission here when I tell you that I’ve not yet read it…), but I’m definitely going to read A Christmas Carol and Pointed Firs in both my freshman and senior classes – with different focuses, of course, but still.

I may not get reimbursed for this purchase, but I don’t really care.  A hundred bucks is a pretty small investment to make for the kind of security I feel that I’ve got BOOKS!

9 Comments

Filed under critical thinking, reading, success!

9 responses to “BOOKS!

  1. magicalmysticalteacher

    Even if you lose a few of those books along the way, you’ve made a great investment—in students’ lives.

  2. The fact that you will do this says a great deal about you.

  3. That’s the version of Huck Finn I’ll be teaching this year with my 11th grade Honors class! 🙂

  4. I’m not seeing any Tolkien in there…

    🙂

  5. SW, WHAT does it say about me? I’m pretty sure it could go either way between “generous and involved” and SUCKER!

    Falcon, you find me copies of Tolkein that can be mine for 2 bucks or less and I’ll TOTALLY teach it….

    : P

  6. lazarusdodge

    My wife works for Dover as an editor…forwarded on your entry…

    Was just talking to her this morning about Google’s new venture in on-demand publishing with public domain type books for $8 a pop. Dover is far less expensive as you found out…

    – J.

  7. twoblueday

    I wasn’t aware there were “versions” of Huckleberry Finn.

    And you haven’t read HuckleBerry Finn! Sheesh!

  8. Pingback: Ten Things Tuesday « A Teacher’s Education

Leave a Reply

