Grammar Wednesday

The “And Thus, it Begins” edition.

I love the start of a new school year, don’t you?

Every September, students return to the classroom with new pencils and neat, orderly binders, excited to meet their friends and begin a new set of classes.  Some of them may even make new school year resolutions; to stay on top of their homework, to pay closer attention in class, to take better notes.

Teachers return with new pencils and neat, orderly binders, excited to meet their latest batch of students, students they hope will be making new school year resolutions; to stay on top of their homework, to pay closer attention in class, to take better notes.

I was that teacher (and, to some extent, I still am), though I have to admit that the veneer was a little cracked when I received this email from one of my seniors at CHS.

on mycomplab.com its telling me to buy a acces code em i in the write spot.

Sigh.  Some things never change.

5 Comments

Filed under bad grammar, Yikes!, You're kidding...right?

5 responses to “Grammar Wednesday

  1. This makes me sad. So, so sad.

  2. Soooo, you’re an ESL teacher now?

  3. It makes me a little sad, too, Lara, though I still have hope; I think this kid was just lazy. I emailed back, gently chiding him for sending this to his ENGLISH TEACHER and he was appropriately contrite this morning. I don’t think I’ll get something like that from him again.

    SW, in fact, I’m NOT! I know you’re being sarcastic here, but I really WAS worried about that, because I have a Korean student in my class. I found out just today that he will be leaving our school for another in the area (I guess the charter school didn’t meet all the exchange foundation’s criteria). Really? He was my primary concern; I’m NOT an ESL teacher, and I was genuinely worried that I’d seriously under serve this kid.

  4. Welcome back, Mr(s). Kotter!!! 🙂

  5. If some things didn’t change, you would think you were in the wrong place!
    😉

Leave a Reply

