Grammar Wednesday

Hey!  Remember Grammar Wednesdays?  It’s been a while, I know, but you remember them, right?

I woke this morning, eager to start my first day of teaching high school, when it occurred to me what day it is!  I’ll write about first days tomorrow; today, you get a GW post.

I took this picture MONTHS ago and have been dying to post it ever since.  It’s a sign on the gas pumps in a station conveniently placed between my house and my mother’s (so, as a consequence, I was there a fair bit), and it bugged me every time I stopped to fill up.  Seriously; it’s straight out of the Department of Redundancy Department:

photo

Really; if people would just READ things out loud before they print them (or, at the very least, before they publish them or post them prominently in public places), so much of this could be avoided…

Perhaps next week, I’ll write about how I’m trying (with varying degrees of success) to become a reformed Grammar Nazi…

Happy Wednesday, Everyone!

9 Comments

Filed under bad grammar, out in the real world

9 responses to “Grammar Wednesday

  1. Someone in our staff meeting yesterday kept saying, “So you can self-refer yourself for this program…” My English department lead and I kept looking at each other like, “Is she serious?” Jeez. 😛

  2. magicalmysticalteacher

    I do remember Grammar Wednesday! Now that you’re back, I’ll be watching for fodder for this column. 🙂

  3. Why do we continue to teach grammar and mechanics with a strategy (Daily Oral Language) that simply does not work? Why do we force students to rehearse errors and teach grammar exclusively out of the writing context? Would love to hear your responses. More points at http://penningtonpublishing.com/blog/grammar_mechanics/why-daily-oral-language-d-o-l-doesnt-work/ and, more importantly, a grammar/mechanics warm-up/opener/bell-ringer that uses a balanced approach of error analysis and model writing is detailed at http://penningtonpublishing.com/blog/grammar_mechanics/sentence-lifting-d-o-l-that-makes-sense/.

  4. Just to be a little different, here’s a thought: in a case like this is the redundancy due to the writers not realizing what they’re doing, or is it due to the writers assuming the readers either don’t read the signs at all or don’t understand them unless they’re painfully obvious?

  5. drtombibey

    Remember ‘Grammar Wednesday?!’ It jump started me as a writer, and I’ll never forget it. All the best chili.

    Dr. B

  6. Seriously your blog image caught my attention. Wrong grammar on a private document might be something but having this displayed in front of the public is a whole different story.

  7. lazarusdodge

    I’m not sure I see the redundancy. There are some pumps that will work without handing over any cash or credit cards. So people can pump and pay afterwards.

    There are other pumps that have to be “activated” by the inside guy once he gets your money.

    Credit cards – meh – pay at the pump.

    Or maybe it’s me. I’ve seen worse…just not here…but it is late…and I’m in holiday shock…

    – Jeff

  8. gerry rosser

    I love redundancies, they are so poetic.

    Here’s one I’ve seen often in my life: “That’s the first time I’ve ever seen that before.”

Leave a Reply

