Grammar Wednesday

A consequence of my being a nearly full-time caregiver to my mother is that I’ve not been out in the world much.  As a consequence of that, I’ve not found very many “out in the world” grammar gaffes (though, at Beanie’s school, the sign out front proudly proclaims that “everyday is Earth Day,” but since last week’s GW was about everyday vs. every day (and I couldn’t figure out how to take the picture of the sign without the school’s name in it) I decided to pass).

I did, however, find this on the Chalkboard Manifesto, and it made me smile.  I hope it has the same effect on you.

bigwords

Happy Wednesday, Everyone!

5 Comments

Filed under bad grammar, funniness, Grammar, little bits of nothingness, self-analysis

5 responses to “Grammar Wednesday

  1. I recall having a student tell me that people who use big words are idiots. Why use a big word when you can state your point with a more “common” word. Thus I responded by telling this student what constitutes a big word for one might not constitute a big word for another.

  2. Raelenne

    I have another . . . a local elementary school here in NC was closed for the week and had the following sign on the door:

    “Do to swine flu, school is closed for the week.”

    Ouch! What made it even better was that the local newspaper included a photo of the sign with its article, never mentioning the incorrect spelling. Did this mean they didn’t notice, too?

    • Raelenne, it always makes me crazy when stuff like that comes from SCHOOLS! Aren’t schools supposed to set good examples? Ugh!

    • I love stories about word follies. Years ago, my sons attended a summer “enrichment” camp run by the Hamilton County Schools. Waiting on the class to end, I heard the teacher say, “I have saw these out at Moxican Bend,” referring to some species of wildlife. “Moccasin Bend” is a park area in Chattanooga. The quoted pronunciation is as phonetic as I can manage in print.

      Regards,
      Felix Miller

  3. *peek* hey, Chili, I’ve gotta know: am I the anti-Twilight freak you mentioned over at Tense Teacher?

Leave a Reply

