Grammar Wednesday

Grammar Wednesday is back on!  I don’t have much for today, though; if you’ve got a nagging grammar question, or you see something grammatically questionable, please send it in.  I very happily take questions and suggestions at mrschili at comcast dot net.

I saw this a few weeks ago when O’Mama and I were in our local IKEA.


Just because you say it that way, doesn’t mean it’s spelled that way… and that comma is unnecessary…


Filed under bad grammar, dumbassery, failure, funniness, Grammar, out in the real world, Yikes!

5 responses to “Grammar Wednesday


    OK, niggling grammar question is this:

    “on accident” “on instinct”

    I always thought using these was a sign of poor grammar (and frankly, poor education, I know, I’m a snob, I apologize) but I recently saw the latter used by someone who professes to be an editor of language in many forums. Please clarify/tell me I am right.

  2. Sooza

    That sign is just FULL of fodder — draws, ect, commas and all!

  3. John

    Grammar Girl mentions a study that finds that “on accident” is common among Americans under 35, but most older Americans say “by accident”. So it’s an age-related variation.

  4. Even sadder is the fact that the word “drawer” is spelled correctly in the name, but incorrectly in the description. *sigh* All they had to do was copy it from one place to another.

  5. Dudley

    Where I live, many people, when feeling ill, will say “I’m sick on my stomach.”

    I always thought it was “sick TO my stomach.”

Leave a Reply

