Uber Amazing!

Clix, over at Epic Adventures, has bestowed upon me the Uber Amazing Blog Award.

Clix said that “Mrs. Chili digs into the tough, the funny, and the heartwarming, and always makes me think about things in a new way.”

uberaward1

Really, Clix got to the point of all of this blogging stuff for me (though, if I’m being completely honest, I have to admit that my primary motivation for blogging is figuring out ways to get ME to think about things in a new way, but any inspiration I can offer to others is great, too).  As I said in one of the comments to my post from yesterday, I think that learning is a collaborative effort, but I don’t really think that teaching is nearly as collaborative as it should be.  We have SO much to offer one another as professionals – and far more than just lesson plans, too.  Teaching is difficult, complex, rewarding work, and the more that we can lean on and learn from each other, the better teachers we become.

I really do think that having a forum like this one, where we can reflect, analyze, investigate, and question our practice – and get thoughtful feedback on that inquiry – makes us far better teachers than we would be if we were working in isolation (and believe me, most teachers DO work in isolation; I don’t consider the teachers’ lounge a collaborative environment).

So, I’m gratefully accepting Clix’s acknowlegement and am going to follow the rules by passing the love along to five other teacher bloggers who help me become better at the work that I love.  Recognize that there’s no particular order to my list; I don’t love the first one more or less than the last.

Carson over at The Proletarian digs into issues of race that I, as a white teacher teaching in a college in a primarily white part of the country, don’t often have reason to consider.  Carson isn’t only concerned with race, but I find his musings on the topic eye-opening and inspiring.

Chatty at Whatchu Tawkin Bout is sassy and right out there.  She doesn’t sugar coat much, and I really appreciate her candor and her keen observational skills.

Mrs. Cornelius, who runs A Shrewdness of Apes, gets me thinking ALL THE TIME.  She writes beautifully and eloquently about things that matter, and her compassion and love of her profession really come through.

I don’t know that I’ve EVER encountered a teacher blogger who’s done more to get me thinking than California Teacher Guy.  Here is a man who clearly loves his job and cares about the students he teaches.  He is willing to do the hard work with the hard kids because he knows that sometimes, all someone needs is a teacher who believes in them when they think no one else does.  CTG is thoughtful, reflective, and willing to do a lot of work to keep making himself better, not for his own sake, but for his kids’.

Finally, a shout goes out to Thomas over at My Own Personal Piece of Doom Cake.  T.V. is a cranky, pessimistic sonofabitch, and I love him with all my heart.  He, like Chatty, doesn’t pull any punches.  He makes me laugh – I love his “Notes to Myself” feature – but he also makes me think.  Oh, and not for nothing, but his occasional history and civics lessons are very informative.

So, there you have it; five teachers that I love to read.  I’m going to be checking in on their sites to see who THEY love to read; I want to see if I can expand my professional community a little bit.

4 Comments

Filed under admiration, analysis, Blogroll, colleagues, compassion and cooperation, critical thinking, great writing, Learning, out in the real world, reading, self-analysis, Teaching, The Job, writing

4 responses to “Uber Amazing!

  1. Congrats! You totally deserve this award! And I am also glad to see you nominated our friend CTG, it will give him some support in these tough days.

  2. How thoughtful of you to say these things, my dear Chili, especially during these “worst of times” in my district. Your words come as balm to my sorely wounded soul. Thank you!

  3. Aw, thanks! I wondered where all the extra traffic came from. I do not nearly post as much teacher *stuff* there since I opened the new blog. I think you are pretty cool too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

