Grammar Wednesday

Look, You Guys; it’s not like me to make fun of people, and you all know that. I recognize that English is a tough language to learn (hell, I’m a native speaker, and I still struggle with it some times). Please know that no insult is intended. Having said that, let’s lighten up and laugh a little.

I received this as an email the other day, and I very nearly fell off my chair laughing so hard. I love engrish.com, and that someone took the time to take theses pictures and submit them cracks me up.

.

Ready for the Olympics? Looks like the Chinese have been working hard on their signs!

We see China is ready for the Olympics and the resulting influx of English speaking tourists…


Here, crippie, take my seat.

Great with flied lice

A separate entrance for Hos….why didn’t I think of that?

Sounds better than canned water doesn’t it?

Go over there to die, please. Thank you.

Good to know

Not nice. Some of my best friends are liquor heads.

Look up and down the aisle twice before proceeding…

Much tastier than the grown up variety

It would be once you start chewing on it

Starbucks should be very afraid!

I wouldn’t tickle this one

This is weird, because horsebeans sound delicious.

Where every fashion aficionado in China shops

I knew it!!

What?!

If there’s one thing we don’t need help with…

‘See you after the flight, Uncle Randy!’

This should be in front of half the hotels in town.

So this is where they all end up!

10 Comments

Filed under bad grammar, funniness, Grammar

10 responses to “Grammar Wednesday

  1. Chili! I’m laughing so hard I can hardly type! You just made my day. Too bad I can’t share these howlers with my sixth-graders!

  2. The second sign is Korean. Language Log talks a lot about this sort of thing, and tries to figure out what got lost in the translation.

  3. That was hilarious! I really needed that laugh after coming home from school. Especially the Elmo made me dlop of my chail (ROR) 😉

  4. And the Elmo sign is Japanese. It’s worth noting that Mandarin makes a distinction between /l/ and /r/, but Japanese and Korean do not.

  5. drtombibey

    Great stuff, chili. Something got lost in the translation, sure enough.

    Dr. B

  6. Since my 6th period class ruins my day, EVERY day, I needed this. That was great.

  7. I can’t stop laughing! I think my favorite one is the first one though. Crippie was hilarious enough but I had to look up “gravid” which means: distended with or full of eggs. So, if you see any sturgeon, make sure you give up your seat for them.

  8. drtombibey

    The ho sign reminds me of a funny story.

    The great golfer Jimmy Demaret was driving to the Augusta National Clubhouse up the famous Magnolia Lane at the Masters. In the car were two very attractive women.

    The attendant stopped him. “Mr. Demaret, this entrance is for professionals only.”

    Jimmy said, “Oh, they’re professionals.”

    The attendant let him pass without any further questions.

    Dr. B

  9. The ‘Dying right here is strictly prohibited’ sign was actually a social protest. The sign originally said something benign, like ‘smoking is prohibited’ but a graffiti artist repainted the first two characters (from the right) so that they say ‘dying’. You can still see the difference in the font of the characters, and the intensity of the paint, as compared with the rest.

    Excellent protest though. I’ve always wanted to put a sign in a park that reads something like “This sign serves no purpose”.

Leave a Reply

