WORK!

I was sitting at my computer this afternoon, working on my next AFGO post, when the phone rang. I answered it, and it turned out to be one of my favorite former English professors with a job offer!

Mrs. Chili is going to be teaching two sections of Freshman English at LU in the fall! I’ve got a class on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings from 8-9, and another in the early evenings on Monday and Wednesday from 5:40 to 7:00.

I cannot BEGIN to tell you how thrilled I am to have gotten this phone call. I’ve already received my first rejection letter (the first of many, I’m sure) and I wasn’t sure how September was going to shape up, but it looks like I’ll be teaching in the fall, for sure!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “WORK!

  1. Hurrah! I see hockey games in your future! LOL

  2. This is awesome news!!! I look forward to a post telling us more about your new employer. Did you apply for this position or did they approach you about the job? Either way, this is very exciting.

  3. Congrats on the new job! It’s always good to feel wanted.

  4. Woohoo! I am so happy for you!

  5. Thanks, you guys – I’m pretty excited, too!

    Eddie, I dropped off my CV ages ago – when I first heard that TCC was closing – but I didn’t expect to get called back. Mr. Chili works as a research engineer for LU, and he’s been talking about the hiring freeze that’s been implemented over there, so I figured my chances of getting this call were nil. It turns out, to quote my former advisor and future boss, that “the University is always willing to exploit adjuncts. Rotten pay, no benefits – the hiring freeze doesn’t apply to peons.” My response? “Exploit me!!”

  6. LOL! I was going to say that about the adjuncts. Hiring freeze won’t affect them. We need them! We

  7. We We we. I do not know what I did. We

  8. whodoesshethinksheisanyway

    Right on sister!

  9. You beat me, Mrs. Chili! I have one interview Thursday and one Friday. We’ll see if I get a call after either one.

    Congratulations to YOU!

  10. Hey, congratulations! I got my tentative summer schedule: two intro writing courses, one advanced writing course, and a college reading course. I hope they all “make.”

    I also remember when “make” meant something entirely different.

    Good luck with your classes!

  11. Those rejection letters don’t really matter anymore now do they? You’re in! Hope you’re celebrating in grand style.

  12. Darci

    Congratulations! I understand that threat. With the education budget cuts LAUSD is cutting some corners. I have yet to see my contract so I am a bit stressed though I have heard that I should be fine. Not until I see that paper, baby.

  13. Hooray for you! Of course, this came as no surprise to any of the rest of us. 😉

  14. It comes as absolutely no surprise to me that you were able to land this job. You are ab-fab, dahling 🙂

  15. Many congrats to you! I knew you’d have something waiting for you, and I have no doubt that you will shine in your new position.

  16. Congratulations!

    Does this mean teaching at my school is out? 😉

Leave a Reply

