A Good Day

I’m still not quite ready to publish what I’ve written about the drama from earlier this week – though I promise you that, at some point in the not-too-distant future, I will (and you should all be prepared to be offended when I do) – I did want to tell you that it seems that I’m safe. For the moment, at least

I had this student in class this afternoon. He showed up late and he left class twice (and he didn’t silence his cell phone), but he was neither combative nor hostile. As a matter of fact, he was actually a cooperative and participating member of the class, and this gives me hope that the rest of the semester won’t be the horror show that I was expecting it to be just two days ago. I’m not convinced that it’s going to be, to put it in Xena’s oh-so-wise words, all puppies and rainbows, either, but I am feeling that my fears of immediate danger are calmed.

Thank you – ALL of you – for your concern and unflagging support. You ARE my community, and I’m grateful, every time I hit that “publish” button, for your wisdom, your kindness, and your willingness to share your experiences with me.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “A Good Day

  1. I will be waiting to hear how this resolved in a way that includes having the student back in class. Were your fears of danger unfounded or did technicalities prevent his expulsion?

  2. Showed up late and left class twice? Are you serious? Sounds as if he thinks he has everything under control. His control. I hope he gets the boot. No teacher deserves to feel unsafe from any threat, immediate or otherwise.

    How is the rest of the class taking it? Has it changed the dynamic or your authority? These may be things you are not ready to write about yet.

    Thank you for continuing to post about other aspects of teaching and not letting this silence you altogether.

  3. I’m glad to hear that you feel safe (at least for the moment). Are you sure? Do you have a plan in place, just in case?

  4. Good heavens – I was totally confused until I scrolled down and realized I missed an earlier post; which was probably a good thing because I’m a world class worrywart. But I’m sorry I missed the opportunity to offer my concern and support.

    I’m glad that it at least sounds like things have moved out of the defcon 5 range and that you feel like you’re out of immediate danger. Hang in there and do whatever you need to do to keep yourself safe!

  5. Mary

    Sounds like the bully has your situation under his control. You hint at abuse. I have had situations with young people like this. Hold your ground and get rid of him. He needs to learn aggression can land him behind bars. This demands swift action on the part of the administration.

    You said he was cooperative and a participating member of the class, but yet he left his cell phone on and left twice. Bounce the guy.

  6. Agree with Dingo. The student that threatened me tried to show, after the incident, that he was still in charge. He tried to use my fear and thought he was now invincible. Quad non! You should register all his misbehaviors, even minor once such as the once you mentioned in your post. Having a back up list will be helpful in case you need to recall incidents in the future. Hang on in there!

  7. Agree with Dingo. The student that threatened me tried to show, after the incident, that he was still in charge. He tried to use my fear and thought he was now invincible. Quad non! You should register all his misbehaviors, even minor once such as the once you mentioned in your post. Having a back up list will be helpful in case you need to recall incidents in the future. Hang on in there!

  8. Why do you have to tolerate him, his leaving whenever he wants, and apparently his attitude?

    This is intolerable.

Leave a Reply

