My Worst Day Yet

Mrs. Chili has had a singularly terrible day, Kids. If I weren’t living it, I probably would have a hard time believing it

I really, REALLY want to tell you about it – to write my way through it – but I’m going to hold off on that until the story plays itself out. There’s a lot at stake here, and I’m thinking that it’s best not to poke the Universe at this early stage in the game.

I will tell you this, though; there is precious little that’s more important to me right now than the facts that a) I have been documenting incidents all semester, and CC-ing the appropriate authorities as I’ve gone, and b) I had a classroom full of witnesses to today’s incident, many of whom have come to me privately to express their support and their willingness to stand up for me should it come to that.

Still, it’s bad. I’m concerned about this on a number of levels, not the least of which is my personal safety  – both on campus and at home.

Holy crap.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “My Worst Day Yet

  1. I am so sorry to hear that you are in the midst of something so disturbing. Even if you can’t write to us about it, write it down for yourself (you’ve probably already done this).

    Good luck with everything. I’m thinking of you.

  2. One other thing, I hope the adminstration is being very supportive. From what I have read here, although they are sometimes frustrating, they have been supportive in the past in regard to difficult students.

  3. So far, my colleagues and superiors have been supportive. As soon as I said I no longer felt safe, my boss said “He’s OUT.” Sadly, though, there are procedures that need to be followed to boot a kid out of class, and that’s what I’m doing now; jumping through hoops to remove a student from my environment.

    Thanks for the support. I knew I could turn to you all for that.

  4. Try to comfort yourself with the thought that these are people very close to adolescence and prone to outbursts of crazy. You know, that and the fact that you’ve told everyone you don’t feel safe so, hopefully, you have a lot of eyes on you.

  5. I am so sorry. Keep us posted when you can and just know that you are in my thoughts!

  6. Yeesh! Be careful and please, and soon as it’s all over, SPILL IT! I love your horror stories.

    Seriously though, be careful. Plan for the worst and hope that you’re being over cautious.

  7. Wow, sounds eerily familar to the garbage I went through this year. As you know mine is out, but *visits* now and then. I hope it plays out in your favor.

  8. take care of yourself, mrs. c. we’re here for you.

  9. Holy cow! I did not realize something like this was going on. You KNOW you can talk to me if you need to.

  10. We all luvya, Mrs. Chili! Hopefully it’ll be over soon. (And then you can SPILL ALL!)

  11. M-Dawg

    Hang tough and keep up your spirits.

    You are in my thoughts –

    “Never let them see ya sweat!” 🙂

  12. Dear Mrs Chili,
    I know I can’t do much to help you from here, but I wanted to let you know that I know what it means to feel unsafe because of a student. I was threatened by a student at the beginning of the year. Luckily, I too was supported amazingly well by my colleagues and the administration and my the readers of my blog. Although I still have the student in my class, I know it is extremely important to talk about it. Don’t keep your worries and stress inside. Find a way to relax and let go, so you don’t get drained. Take care! Hug, Frumteacher

Leave a Reply

