There’s One Every Term

It’s really true; regardless of how fantastic a group a teacher has, there’s always one student who presents a greater-than-average challenge.

I find that it’s these kids who really do teach me the most about how to be a good teacher, but they’re lessons learned through some significant strife. My “special” kids have all been profoundly memorable to this point – there were the twins, Megadeth Dave and Tad, each of whom presented me with their own unique challenges; there was Henry, who may well have given me my most story-worthy confrontations; and there’s Betsy, the lady who decided that she didn’t deserve the failing grade she earned, despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary. There have been a few others, some of whom I’ve written about, others I’ve not, who have all given me great gifts by presenting me with full-frontal experiences with ignorance, stubbornness, and non-existent work ethics in an academic setting.

I thought – mistakenly, it seems now – that I was going to pretty much skate by this term with no particularly noteworthy students. Sure, there’s Harvey, but he’s not so much a challenge as he is a curiosity; there’s something in there, but even he doesn’t know how to access it underneath all that affectation. Nope; I’ve discovered that I’ve got another winner, and that my bosses, yet again, have my back.

This student has shown up to precisely half of the classes we’ve held so far. This student’s grade point average is hovering somewhere around a 30. This student has claimed that the attendance issues – and the lack of completed homework – are the fault of a long commute and rising gas prices.

My brief experience in this teaching game has taught me many things. It is through my dealing with students like this one, however, that I’ve learned one thing well and clearly: get in front of it as early as I can. To that end, I forwarded everything this student has given me so far – including abysmal homework assignments and emails – to the department head. I bundled everything together and sent it off as an FYI to my colleague yesterday, and he called me into his office today before I was to see this student in class (provided, of course, that the student was going to show up).

The first thing the department head (let’s call him Sam, just for the heck of it) said was that he was not in the least bit surprised that I’d already encountered trouble with this student (we’ll call the student Jon, just for the heck of it – I’m trying to be as anonymous as possible here, but typing “student” over and over is getting annoying). Sam has had dealings with Jon – and, from the tone of Sam’s voice, not very pleasant ones, at that – since the first week of Jon’s first term. The program that Jon has applied to is a public service training program – he has aspirations of being in a position that involves close contact with the general public, and Sam has had great reservations about the possibility of Jon’s success in this pursuit. He thanked me for putting him in the proverbial loop, complimented me on my clear, firm, and matter-of-fact responses to Jon’s emails, and assured me that he would be working very closely with him this term. Sam encouraged me to continue my approach with Jon, told me to not allow myself to be intimidated by the student, and to come to Sam at any time and as often as I felt I needed to discuss my dealings with the kid.

I left the office feeling appreciated and very well supported.

Jon delivered what was supposed to be an informational speech this afternoon. I am still unclear about what the main thesis of the presentation was, though I can tell you for certain that it was not at all informational. It turned out to be a rant about the injustice of the class system – and specifically, of Jon’s unfortunate position within that system – and was punctuated by various inappropriate references and words (“crap” came up three times, “shit” was said twice). I probably should have stopped the presentation when I realized that it had gone completely off the informational rails (or, rather, when I realized that it was never on those rails to begin with) but I let the thing play out to the end. I didn’t want to embarrass Jon, nor did I want any accusation of unfair treatment in front of the class. I moved us as quickly through the group critique process as I could and started the next speaker.

Sam was going back into the building as I was going out after class, and I invited him to come to the copy room with me so I could provide him with a copy of Jon’s speech. Before I said a word, Sam said, “Let me guess; he spoke about racism, or sexism, or violence, or something inappropriate.” None of what I had to say about the student’s performance came as any surprise to my colleague, and that came as an enormous relief to me. Sam knows that I’m not exaggerating or overreacting to my experiences with this kid, and I know for sure that I’m not going to have to go out of my way to prove that I have legitimate cause to assign the grades that I do. I told Sam that Jon’s performance warranted a failing grade; he agreed, and is now fully prepared for whatever fallout may result as a consequence of that.

My dearest hope is that my next job is in an environment that is half as supportive as this one. For all of TCC’s faults, professional solidarity is not lacking – not even a little.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “There’s One Every Term

  1. I’m so totally glad you read my ‘inspirational/motivational’ email the way I intended it to be read!

    David Wilcock ‘channels’ an entity called Ra, (which is the entity that gave info to Edgar Cayce and others) and one of the points he makes, below, whether it’s true or not, is worth thinking about.

    When we see something that is annoying or aggravating in others it is a reflection of something in us that we can fix.

    Since we know that life is more than just this day to day reality it’s possible that we put ourselves in situations where we can best learn about ourselves.

    I wonder if you’d write this blog, and process the day as much if you had a class of ‘perfect’ Mary Poppins’s (can I pluralize that?) 🙂

  2. Daz, I try to be mindful of taking things in the best possible light FIRST, then adjusting my outlook if I feel that I’m being too optimistic. I won’t say that it’s an automatic reaction – I still get a little defensive and insecure – but I make a point of being positive until I’m given reason to not be.

    There’s a lot going on in my thinking about what goes on that we can’t see. I truly believe that we put ourselves in situations that offer us opportunities to learn, and NONE of what I said about being grateful to my pain-in-the-ass students was in the least bit sarcastic; I really DO appreciate the chances they offer me to learn and grow.

    I know for sure that I wouldn’t process as much with a room full of perfect students. Oh, and I’d pluralize that as “Mary Poppinses” : P

  3. Somehow, being supported by the administration and fellow teachers does make up for all the difficult moments in the classroom. I LOVED the picture, it really fits the rest of your post. Do you feel that after teaching for several years, you are less surprised by the challenging students? I hope I will some time reach that stage. I feel I am slowly getting there, although I am still shocked by their weak language skills and poor behaviour.

  4. Frumteacher, the administration and fellow teachers don’t necessarily make up for the craziness I experience with some students, but they certainly make it bearable. I don’t think I could stand being second-guessed by my bosses based on what some of these kids do or say, and knowing that my supervisors are ALWAYS going to take my side until they’re proven wrong is an incredible relief. I know that many (most?) of my colleagues in public schools do not have that kind of security.

    Honestly? I’m not surprised anymore, and I’ve only been at it for about two years. I’m still always amused – I keep waiting for the individual students to run up against something that proves to them that their mode of operation is not in their best interests – but I learned quickly and early that I cannot – and SHOULD not – take student behavior personally. I’m confident in the fact that I take my job very seriously, but I also know that I can only lead the horse’s asses to water; whether or not they drink is entirely their choice.

  5. Must be extremely nice to have professional support for your work.

    Having an administration that doesn’t back you up is what causes so much crap in public education.

    TV

  6. Pingback: Two Things « A Teacher’s Education

  7. Pingback: AFGO, Part I (Reader Discretion is Advised) « A Teacher’s Education

Leave a Reply

