TAGGED!

Bodog of Parent, Teacher, Asshole (how can you not love a blog with that name?) tagged me for the 123 Book Meme. I’ve done this at my home site, but because I loves Bodog, I’m doing it again here.
1. Pick up the nearest book
2. Open to page 123
3. Find the fifth sentence
4. Post the next three sentences
5. Tag five people and acknowledge who tagged you

As is my usual habit, I’m currently reading multiple books at the same time. The one on which I’m most intently focused, however, is the book I’m reading for The Dark and Stormy Book Club; Orson Scott Card’s Enchantment. I’m enjoying it far more than I expected I would, and I’m finding myself annoyed at the things in my life which are interfering with my reading (you know, things like eating and working and spending time with my family). Here, then, are the sixth, seventh, and eighth sentences on page 123 of the paperback edition of Card’s novel:

My Itzak, my Vanya, what is happening to you?

He was dressed in the robe of a medieval monk, and behind him loomed the figure of an old man in priests’ garb. Vanya moved his lips.

You all know how I feel about tagging*. Please consider yourselves encouraged to boost this meme for your own uses, and to let us know in the comments if you did.

* For those of you who may not know, I love BEING tagged, but I don’t like DOING the tagging. It seems rather hypocritical that I wouldn’t mind being tasked with something that I’m loath to obligate others to do, too, but there you have it.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “TAGGED!

  1. I’ve been thinking of adding some Orson Scott Card to me TBR list for the (at least somewhat) near future. Have you read any of his work before?

  2. nhfalcon

    You knew I was going to do this, right? 🙂

    “There were no trees at all. He was on a dark heath, and there was a strange salt smell in the air. Looking up he saw before him a tall white tower, standing alone on a high ridge.” – The Fellowship of the Ring

    “Rain came lashing down.

    Arrows thick as rain came whistling over the battlements, and fell clinking and glancing on the stones. Some found a mark.” – The Two Towers

    “‘But that did not bring her to this pass!’

    ‘My friend,’ said Gandalf, ‘you had horses, and deeds of arms, and the free fields; but she, born in the body of a maid, had a spirit and courage at least the match of yours. Yet she was doomed to wait upon an old man, whom she loved as a father, and watch him falling into a mean dishonoured dotage; and her part seemed to her more ignoble than that of the staff he leaned on.'” – The Return of the King

  3. Falcon – where’s the Hobbit passage?

  4. nhfalcon

    Dear god! What was I thinking?!

    “The sun had only just turned west when they started, and till evening it lay golden on the land about them. It was difficult to think of pursuing goblins behind, and when they had put many miles between them and Beorn’s house they began to talk and to sing again and to forget the dark forest-path that lay in front. But in the evening when the dusk came on and the peaks of the mountains glowered against the sunset they made a camp and set a guard, and most of them slept uneasily with dreams in which there came the howl of hunting wolves and the cries of goblins. – The Hobbit

    Thanx, Sainseester! 🙂

  5. “The paper also included material designed specifically to help teachers. A page of Bible stories gave teachers ready-made Sunday school lessons. A column entitled ‘Teacher’s Table’ offered practical tips that incorporated the latest thinking in pedagogy: how to secure the attention of pupils.”

    A Class of their Own: Black Teachers in the Segregated South by Adam Fairclough

Leave a Reply

