Meme: Passion Quilt

I’ve forgotten who tagged me for this (if it was you, remind me, please), but I do know that I was tagged and so here we are:

Post a picture or take/create your own image that captures what you are most passionate for kids to learn

Give your picture a short title

Title the post “Meme: Passion Quilt”

Link back to this blog entry

Include links to five people in your professional community

I’ve been thinking about what image would adequately represent what I’m most passionate that my children – both biological and academic – learn, and I’ve discovered that it has very little to do with my area of academic concentration.

I’m titling this “We are Strongest When We are Together”

globehands.jpg

My concentration is English. I teach students to write and think and discuss and question and criticize and connect. In the end, though, it’s of little importance to me whether or not they can recite a sonnet or correctly cite a research source in the MLA format. These things do matter to a certain extent, but they’re not what I really want my kids to learn from me.

What’s important to me is that the experience that students have in my classroom – and in my presence – helps them to understand that we’re all responsible for, and to, each other.

I want to teach my students – and my children – to use their words to connect to other people, and to understand others through reading and film and drama and speeches.

I want them to seek out others’ opinions and perspectives, and to use those insights to make their own understanding of their world better and more complete.

I want my students to see that, underneath all the politics and religion and skin tones, we all share common hopes and dreams and desires. I want them to believe that a diversity of voices makes the world richer and more meaningful, and to see difference as something to celebrate rather than something to fear or hate.

I want to raise curious, compassionate, considerate people, in my classroom, in my yoga classes, and in my home.

I dislike tagging – you should know that about me by now – so I’m opening the offer to any of my teacher friends who’ve not yet been called upon to work through this exercise (O’Mama? NakedMessenger? Wayfarer? SaintSeester?  Xena, if you want to do it, I’ll post your musings here).

image credit

10 Comments

Filed under colleagues, compassion and cooperation, Learning, out in the real world, popular culture, Questions, self-analysis, success!, Teaching

10 responses to “Meme: Passion Quilt

  1. Give me a little bit. I’m in, but it’ll take me some time to get my thoughts in order.

    By the way, the things you wrote in this post? They’re just what I was talking about in my email to you last week. They’re fabulous!

    I love you!

  2. Take your time, Wayfarer; it took me so long to figure out what my image should be that I forgot who tagged me in the first place.

    I know that’s what you were getting at in your email, but these objectives are a little too touchy-feely and hard to assess for a syllabus. That’s why I chose the objectives from the other course to put on my film class. The things I wrote in this post are, in a strange paradox, both my primary objectives for any class and the ones that never get put on my course objectives.

    I love you, too.

  3. Organic Mama

    I really love what you wrote, as well and while I, too, think about what I want to say, I am taking up your challenge. Just, like, tomorrow.

  4. What a lovely exercise. I wish someone were collecting all the quilt squares and making a big poster out of them.

  5. Hmmm. I don’t teach kids, so I suppose I need to think this over from the point of view of what I want my own children to be passionate about. I have ideas, but getting photos, that’s the kick. Let me mull over this one for a bit.

  6. @kizz: you find me the links, I’ll make a virtual poster with links back to everyone’s sites.

  7. Pingback: at Saintseester Says…

  8. You want great things for your students. They’re lucky to have you as a teacher!

  9. What a fantastic idea!!

  10. So I’m a few weeks late on replying…. .but that’s the way things have been for me lately.

    It’s amazing to me how we all forget to look at the basic natures of life. At the primary levels, we all want the same things, need the same things, desire the same things… but somewhere along the lines, we’ve gotten confused and caught up in everything else. We’ve made choices to lead us away from these basic elements and we’ve “put on glasses” that keep us from recognizing each other and all of those qualities that make us so similar.

    Beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

