I Don’t Have All of the Answers….

33512.jpg…. but Ms. Cornelius has figured one of them out.

As a continuation of my ruminating here about the state of education, I direct you to the incomparable Ms. Cornelius at A Shrewdness of Apes. I can’t seem to link directly to the post she wrote, so beautifully, about at least ONE of the changes that needs to be made to improve the state of our schools, so go here and find the entry dated today, February 2nd, titled Principals’ Life Lesson 24: Inspired Leadership.

What makes me sad is that this sort of thing needs to be pointed out at all; that this behavior and these attitudes need to be outlined and taught. I continue to be downhearted when I recognize that we really do live in a world predicated on competition and aggression rather than cooperation and compassion.

I’ve found, personally, that my life is much better – richer, happier, easier – when I’m working in concert with others. Sure, there’s disagreement – without it, there would never be growth or learning – but I truly believe that there’s more good to be had from helping lift each other up than there is from trying to keep each other down.  I’m in the minority, though, and I’m not sure what to do about that.

Thanks, Ms. Cornelius, for your post, and for bringing me a little closer to my formulation of an answer to this incredibly complex and daunting question.

(the image is Ms. C’s avatar. Isn’t it fantastic?)

2 Comments

Filed under admiration, colleagues, compassion and cooperation, concerns, frustrations, General Griping, great writing, Learning, out in the real world, Questions, self-analysis, Teaching, the good ones, The Job

2 responses to “I Don’t Have All of the Answers….

  1. Surely I’ve told you about my friend who, in her first year of teaching, asked a colleague about something that colleague was photocopying. The veteran teacher replied, “That’s none of your business. I didn’t pay $30,000 for my education just to give it away for free!” Which is both mean and inaccurate. You paid $30K to learn how to teach people, you never know where those people might turn up. But that sort of attitude is rampant everywhere, not just in education, and it’s serving no one in the long term.

  2. Oooh, I’m all a-blushing. Thank you so very much for the kind words.

    And Kizz– I am speechless at that story. Reminds me of something that happened last week, when someone handed me MY OWN ACTIVITY as an example.

    But anyway, thanks, MrsChili.

Leave a Reply

