Day One!

Done!

It was a good day – a harbinger, I hope, of those still to come.

I have six students – all women – in my first period literature class. Five of them have been students of mine before, and three of those five were good students, to boot. I left the course outline pretty open so that we could determine, as a group, where we wanted to go in our reading adventures, and we decided yesterday to start with Robert Lewis Stevenson’s Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. It’s in the public domain, so I’m printing it out for us to start reading tomorrow. I’ve got to use the literature book they paid upwards of 70 bucks for, though, so we’ll plow through some of the short stories and poems next, then tackle Hamlet by mid-term.

My composition class is huge by TCC standards – though, with 26 students, it’s not quite as big as O’Mama‘s biggest class which contains 37 souls – but it’s plenty big enough for me, thank you very much. It’s going to be challenging reading all the work those students create. I suspect that I’ll do a lot of smallish assignments and save the really important ones for the middle of the course so I’m not scrambling for final grades.

Really, though, I think my biggest challenge is going to be remembering what day it is. I’ve worked a Tuesday / Thursday schedule for so long that moving to a Monday / Wednesday one is going to completely mess with my sense of time. As I left campus yesterday, I kept saying to myself “it’s Monday, it’s Monday,” and I’ve been aware of its being Tuesday all day today. I hope it doesn’t take me too long to make that adjustment…

3 Comments

Filed under colleagues, composition, concerns, film as literature, Literature, little bits of nothingness, reading, self-analysis, Teaching, the good ones

3 responses to “Day One!

  1. For what it is worth, I NEVER adjust to which days of the week I am teaching. The last time I really knew, was the summer I took off from work…

  2. Congrats for having finished your first day! If I’m correct, your weekend is about to start today… I guess that’s one of the positive side effects of your new schedule!

    My biggest class ever was 32 students. I don’t understand why such a thing is allowed. My biggest class now is 27, but all the others are much smaller. So I’m happy 🙂

  3. fermat

    I love Stevenson’s “The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.” There is so much you can do with just that short story. I can be treated as a commentary on drug use, which was rampant in Victorian England. It can also be read as a comment on the “other” of society; something that should be hated, feared, and shunned. It can also explore the theme of homosexuality, using Jekyll turning into Hyde as an allegory to gay life. You can comment on why there are hardly any women in the story, and the ones who are there are ones of subserviance. So many facets in such a short, but wonderfully written story. Enjoy teaching it.

Leave a Reply

