A New Term

I start the “spring” term of TCC tomorrow.  I’ve put “spring” in quotation marks because it’s still REALLY winter around here and, technically, TCC has a term that starts in March, too, which is really far more spring-like than it is now.  Everyone else calls the January start the “spring term,” though, so I’m running with that.

I’ve finished a preliminary syllabus for my composition class already, and I’m secretly hoping to scare off a good portion of the class with it.  I figure that if I’m going to be the one who stands up to complain about the lack of academic rigor and standards at TCC, I damned well ought to be the one who stands up and makes her classes more academically rigorous, right?  I’m allowing myself some pretty serious wiggle-room, and I’m considering playing around with the order in which I teach things – giving more time to professional writing and cover letters and trying to train a little narrative distance into my students because everything shouldn’t be a personal essay in the vernacular.

I’ve got to spend some time with the new edition of the literature text, but I’m feeling a little less pressure to map out this class so carefully.  According to my roster, I’ve got six students, and one of them is listed as being on a leave of absence.  Having such a small class gives me a lot of freedom to run the class more like a book club / discussion group, and the more relaxed atmosphere allows for a lot more flexibility in what I assign.

I have NO idea what I’m going to wear tomorrow; I’ve not been in “teacher clothes” for three weeks and getting back into the habit of dressing professionally (and staying sufficiently warm) is going to be interesting.  I’m going to miss my woobie socks.

Ready or not, here we go!!

5 Comments

Filed under about writing, composition, concerns, Learning, Literature, little bits of nothingness, self-analysis, Teaching

5 responses to “A New Term

  1. I, personally, am dreading wearing a bra 9 hours a day again.

    Best wishes for the new semester!

  2. The good thing about bras is the added warmth. I also wear tights or leggings under my pants all winter long for the warmth with the appropriate dress.

  3. nhfalcon

    Does TCC have a dress code for its staff? If not, why worry about it?

    And listening to the talk about bras just makes me glad I’m a guy, though I am heartened to learn that not all women wear them 🙂

  4. Glad to see that I’m not the only one that’s going to miss her pj’s! What did you wear, in the end?

  5. I chose a dark green, cabled turtleneck and black trousers. It’s actually rather mild here now, and will be for the next 36 or so hours, so I may wear a cute polarfleece skirt I made for myself a few years ago tomorrow. It’s black with little rosebuds on it and I made it long enough to reach my ankles…

Leave a Reply

