THIS Is Why I Teach

I got this from a student from one of last term’s public speaking classes:

On Sunday, I did the reading at my boyfriend’s church. I volunteered to do it, which I never in a million years would have done before. I was so nervous about getting up in front of the church. I just told myself to watch the commas, the periods, and to read slowly and clearly. Everyone told me I did a great job, even people I had never met before were coming up to me and complimenting me on it. The church service is recorded and they put me up on their website. If you want to hear me just go to WWW.FCCHANSON.ORG and click on where it says Listen to the message from the pulpit: My Refuge: Under His Wings. I’m the first one talking. It ends with me saying “this is the word of the LORD*.”

I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes. THIS is why I teach.

images.jpeg

*note – her piece is the first part of the download – she’s got a minute and 23 seconds, and I couldn’t be more proud of her.

5 Comments

Filed under admiration, out in the real world, success!, Teaching, the good ones

5 responses to “THIS Is Why I Teach

  1. Wow, that’s huge for her!

  2. Wonderful! Not only that she took that step, but that she wrote to let you know about it. You obviously make a real difference in a lot of your students’ lives.

  3. I’m sharing your tears of joy! 🙂

  4. That is so fantastic! It was so sweet of her to share that with you too (and subsequently, the rest of us).

    I have officially returned from my extended blogging hiatus (don’t ask) and I look forward to catching up on what’s been going on at TCC!

    Mrs. Chili Archives…here I come!

  5. Organic Mama

    That’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

