INCONCEIVABLE!

The “I do not think that word means what you think it means” post.

images-4.jpeg

This email was sent to the entire TCC faculty from the president of the school (I shit you not here, folks – I don’t make this stuff up…)

I have attached for you a copy of the student code of conduct that is contained in the student handbook. It is helpful from time to time to review various policies. Just as all faculty and staff are advocates and supporters for our students, we also have a responsibility to educate the whole person and develop well-rounded individuals. This means occasionally reminding students of the policy and the proper behavior that one must purport themselves with on a daily basis. Please take a moment to review our policy. Thanks!

No problem….

…EXCEPT that a quick check of the dictionary tells me that “purport,” as a verb, means;

1. to present, esp. deliberately, the appearance of being; profess or claim, often falsely: a document purporting to be official.
2. to convey to the mind as the meaning or thing intended; express or imply.

It may just be me, but I think that the verb he was going for there was “conduct” or maybe even “comport.”

It scares me, sometimes: it really, truly does….

6 Comments

Filed under frustrations, General Griping, Grammar, Yikes!

6 responses to “INCONCEIVABLE!

  1. wordlily

    Wow, that’s a bad one. Do you think this happens more when the one writing/speaking purports to be more intellectual than he or she actually is?

  2. It’s really all I can do to NOT email the guy back with a correction.

  3. It seems like someone wanted to sound more intelligent by using words that sound “smarter.”

  4. Dr. Prezz, don’t you just LOVE how badly that backfires on people?

    My question is this – how many in the college community (besides geeky little me) actually caught the error…? The thing that scares me is my answer is “probably no one…”

  5. I vote for comport and I’m sticking my fingers in my ears, singing la la la la and pretending that it’s a typo.

  6. LOL, a teacher after my own heart with the Princess Bride references. And boy, Mr. President reeeeeally should know better!

Leave a Reply

