A Dark and Stormy Book Club

It is with great excitement that I invite you to participate in a new book club!

smallbuttonthumbnail.png

Hosted by Bo, Saintseester and myself, A Dark and Stormy Book Club is meant to provide the community of traditional book clubs, but without the hassle of trying to find meeting times convenient to everyone (and, of course, allowing for a great deal of, shall we say, geographical flexibility). We’re taking advantage of blogging and podcasting to make this book club more dynamic and fun and, well, easier on everyone’s schedule. You can sign in to the blog or listen to the podcast whenever you want without having to clear a space in your calendar or find a babysitter.

Once a month, one of your hosts will suggest a book for investigation and post it at A Dark and Stormy Book Club. A link to purchase the book will be embedded in the post, too, if you feel you’d like to add the selection to your personal library. We’ll allow several weeks to read the book, then we’ll host a radio show podcast of discussion about it. Eventually, we’ll open the discussion to outside callers so that you can join in. How cool is that?

After the podcast is recorded, we’ll open the book up for discussion in the comments section. There, we’ll post discussion questions and offer up an opportunity for everyone to chime in and post their thoughts and comments. Don’t forget that your hosts are teachers and writers in real life, too – feel free to ask questions, if you like, and we’ll do our best to answer them for you.

Our inaugural book is The Road by Cormac McCarthy and, while it’s not a happy, feel-good kind of read, it IS one that will inspire a lot of good thinking and discussion. Please join us – it’s going to be a lot of fun.

15 Comments

Filed under colleagues, crossover, Learning, reading, Teaching

15 responses to “A Dark and Stormy Book Club

  1. I’m awake. My post is not nearly as good as yours. I am too sleepy. Because my sister is in town visiting, I am only getting 5 or 6 hours of sleep per night, and I still have to work. Blech.

  2. Seester, it’s not a competition (but, if it were, Bo would win, hands-down). Just get the word out, girl – that’s all we have to do…

  3. I look forward to being able to join you some in the future, and the site looks great!

  4. I’m hoping you can, too, Tense – your voice would be a welcome addition to the discussion. Do you think you can fit in a book before school starts? The Road, while not a particularly happy book, isn’t a very taxing read…

  5. I was just thinking the other day how much I wanted to join a book club! The Road is a book that I’ve also wanted to read 🙂

  6. Well, then, Ms. Teacher – join us!!

  7. Jackie

    The Road is on my pile of books to read this summer. The online club is a great idea!

  8. So, Jackie, dig it out of the pile and join us!!

  9. Bo

    Aw, you guys are too kind. I’ve just been irritated with myself that I couldn’t hit 11 out of 11 descriptive phrases for you, Mrs. Chili. 🙂

  10. sphyrnatude

    OOOOH! I like this!.

    Coupa questions though:
    this months book looks good. I’ll be picking it up in the next coupla days, but you don’t have target dates for the podcast or the start of the discussion on the blog page….. Would it be possible to add those so that I have an idea as to the timeframe for the discussion?
    thanks a ton!

  11. Done! I added info at the bottom (the show date is tentative, but it still gives you a time frame.) Basically, you will have 3 to 4 weeks to read a book before the discussion starts.

  12. sphyrnatude

    Cool. Count me in….

  13. Sounds great! I’m all about it. But – and this is about an 800 page but – I have to finished Harry Potter first. I have blocked out all day on Saturday to do so. I couldn’t do it this last weekend, so I’m living each day in complete fear of a stealth spoiler. Stick my fingers in my ears, shut my eyes, la-la-la-la, I can’t hear you.

  14. Michael, I’m doing the same thing – LA LA LA! I keep having a flashback to Beverly Hills Cop (the first one – anyone remember that) “La-la-la! Jeffrey’s still talking, but I”M NOT LISTENING! Jeffrey! I am NOT LISTENING TO YOU!” Love that scene….

  15. Organic Mama

    This is a lovely and exciting idea. I am heading to B&N today to pick up The Road, as well as the Deathly Hallows, as my pre-ordered book did NOT arrive. I would love to join you and will dive into the book asap.

Leave a Reply

