Commonly Confused Words

This was fun, and reinforced for me, just a little, my qualifications for teaching this stuff here.  I’m not sure where I lost points, but the quiz did have the caveat that it’s skewed toward Britishisms…..

Your Score: English Genius

You scored 100% Beginner, 92% Intermediate, 100% Advanced, and 93% Expert!

You did so extremely well, even I can’t find a word to describe your excellence! You have the uncommon intelligence necessary to understand things that most people don’t. You have an extensive vocabulary, and you’re not afraid to use it properly! Way to go!

For the complete Answer Key, visit: http://shortredhead78.blogspot.com/.

5 Comments

Filed under Grammar, little bits of nothingness, self-analysis

5 responses to “Commonly Confused Words

  1. That was cute. I got 100/100/100/86. I missed a couple on the expert part, one of which was about the difference between effect and affect. Even though you have explained that one, I still forgot! There were several that I would have missed a few months ago; however, thanks to you, I got them right.

  2. Woohoo, 100% all around! Time to get up on the computer desk and dance, lol.

  3. You scored 100% Beginner, 100% Intermediate, 100% Advanced, and 66% Expert!

    Not sure what I missed in the Expert section…
    I borrowed this from you and linked in my blog.

    🙂
    Allison

  4. I disagree with 31 and 34.

    Both “hung” and “hanged” for death by hanging are standard English. In fact, the reference.com link says this: “In the sense of legal execution, hung is also quite common and is standard in all types of speech and writing except in legal documents. When legal execution is not meant, hung has become the more frequent form: The prisoner hung himself in his cell.”

    Both “further” and “farther” are standard English for physical distance, and the reference.com link says this as well: “Although some usage guides insist that only farther should be used for physical distance (We walked farther than we planned), farther and further have been used interchangeably throughout much of their histories.”

  5. I got the “hanged/hung” one right (at least, according to (me and) the test; I teach my students the distinction between legal execution (or, more to the point, when the action is NOT brought about by the willfulness of the subject) and when someone willingly does oneself in.

    I’m pretty sure I got the “further/farther” one wrong. I was going to do a Grammar Wednesday on it the next time I do a confused words post….

Leave a Reply

