If You’re Not Part of the Solution….

img_3271.JPGThis isn’t helping matters any.  To think that I wonder why the state of our language is as it is.

Between this and the damned Cheerio’s box – not to mention all the signs (“kwik service” and the like) – it’s amazing any of us ever learns to speak properly (or, conversely, may explain why many of us don’t).

What I thought was particularly frustrating about this product was that the big title at the top (is it a brand name?) says “cooked perfect,” while the description in the lower right corner says “fully cooked,” which is correct English usage.  Now, I know for sure that my students don’t proofread their writing, but don’t you think it would do a company well to make sure that whatever’s printed on their thousands of product containers is grammatically correct?  Is it just me?!

On a side note, they really are yummy meatballs, particularly when cooked for a day or so in a beer-and-ketchup sauce*.  Spoon them over crusty bread, cover with cheese and pop them in the oven for a few minutes and you’ve got a fantabulous dinner.  Trust me.

*beer-balls recipe – combine 1 12 oz can of beer, room temp, 2 T Worcestershire sauce, 1 T sugar, 1 T cider vinegar and 1 c ketchup in a crock pot, add meatballs and cook on low until you’re ready to eat.  If you like a thicker sauce, add 1 t corn starch before turning on the heat…

8 Comments

Filed under General Griping, Grammar

8 responses to “If You’re Not Part of the Solution….

  1. Where are they made and/or packaged? Translation error?

  2. claudia

    Also, the quality of beer used will greatly enhance the flavor,in my opinion. The cheap American beers (Bud and the like) do not make a sauce with in depth flavor. I prefer the Sam Adams beer, Porters, or dark German beers. I’ve made these for years and they’re always a hit!

  3. Oh, and don’t forget about the media’s encouraging poor spelling: Fergie and Will.I.Am sing “Girl, you t-a-s-t-e-y, tasty” on the radio daily.

    Our job has never been easy, but it seems to get tougher everyday.

  4. Claudia, I’ve only EVER used cheap old Bud. I will try a better beer next time, though I wonder how on earth they can get much better – for only having five ingredients, the sauce is DELECTABLE!

  5. Oh, ARGH! This drive me nuts!

    As a Southerner I am beseiged daily by the phrase “Ice tea”. I want to scream: “it’s effin’ ICED tea!”

    Ok … ok … I’m alright now.

    -Blue

  6. Not to be too picky here, but why aren’t you boycotting this product instead of promoting it? Bad English deserves to be shunned!

  7. Honestly, TeacherGuy? I didn’t notice the bad English until I got the bag out of my own freezer. Really, I just reached into the freezer case at the supermarket and grabbed the only small bag of meatballs that was available; all the others were too big for what I needed. I suppose, though, that ignorance is no excuse, huh?

  8. Johna254

    Fckin awesome things here. I am very glad to see your article. Thanks a lot and i’m looking forward to contact you. Will you please drop me a mail? kdefbaddgecf

Leave a Reply

