An Inauspicious Beginning

whatsittake.gif

I fear that it’s going to be a long term…

The first homework deadline for my hybrid class has come and gone. Want to know how they did? I bet you can guess…..

Out of twenty four students, I had one – ONE – who did everything I asked for and turned it in on time. ONE.

Twelve did part of the assignment, and most of those left out the one-page responses to essays I’d handed out in class. That leaves us with ten students who just didn’t bother to do any of it (or didn’t bother to send it to me).

Lest you think I’ve forgotten someone (we’re only up to 23 students here; my math skills may suck hard, but I can add…), one of my kids sent me a file that my computer doesn’t know how to translate. I emailed back and asked him to reformat it, but he’s not gotten back to me yet. I sent the untranslatable file to my husband for deciphering; I’ll have to wait until he gets to it before I know how much of the assignment that student completed.

Quite the exciting beginning, don’t you think? Right off the bat, eleven students are failing my class. I think I’m going to spend a lot of time this term reminding myself of the bit of sage wisdom left as a comment to my blog a while back by an anonymous reader: “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t hold his head under long enough to make a difference.”

Truer words were perhaps never spoken.

7 Comments

Filed under General Griping, Teaching

7 responses to “An Inauspicious Beginning

  1. Once upon a time, I would have been shocked to hear that college students, who are paying for their higher educations, are just as apathetic as high school students; however, after making bloggy friends who are college professors, I’m not surprised in the least about what you’ve related here today. I’m a bit saddened, but not surprised.

    One of my favorite things to tell my students is that education is power. They just don’t seem to get it though.

  2. I turn that saying around, Tense, to tell them that “Your ignorance is THEIR power.” Only some people want to be powerful, but NO ONE likes to be manipulated and vulnerable.

    I’m saddened by this beginning and hope that, at some point, it turns itself around. I’m not so idealistic to think that all the power for that rests with me, though…

  3. **shaking head**

    Makes my generation look like the lazy, expect-all the-benefits-without-the-work-bums that most of us are.

    On the other hand, it makes the small percentage of us that actually DO the work look like all-stars! Their loss…my benefit. (Let’s ignore the fact, for a brief moment, that the less and less students DO for their education means dumber and dumber curriculums for the rest of us, equating to an even BIGGER gap between the Haves and the Have-Nots.)

    **sigh** I’m going to go back to tapping my foot in front of the microwave…with the REST of my generation.

  4. Mrs. Chili, you most certainly may use my essay in your class. Hopefully, it will be to your students’ benefit. However, if you could drop me a line at eats.bugs@yahoo.com, I can give you crediting info.

  5. My essay went well!! If I get a chance, I’ll load it into an email and send it your way. I’m between classes right now…but soon! Maybe this weekend??

    Hopefully we’ll have the grades by then and then you can check it out AND I can tell you what I earned.

    Cass

  6. Pingback: Seriously « A Teacher’s Education

  7. Pingback: One More Than Half « A Teacher’s Education

Leave a Reply

