A Reading List for 2007

Feather, over at Tatterdemallion, is a reader. A true lover of books, this woman is, and I have very much enjoyed reading her reviews and critiques and questions about the works she’s chosen to read.

If I’m understanding her posts correctly, she set herself up with a reading list last year and made a point of working her way through it. I really like that idea, and am entertaining the thought of doing the same for myself this year. I’m also thinking of opening up the question of what should be on my list to you, Dear Readers, to see if I can expand my proverbial horizons.

Once I finish reading The Fiery Cross (I’m nearly through), I was considering picking up Cold Mountain. A quick inventory of my bookshelves shows me that I’ve purchased copies of Jonathan Strange and Dr. Morrell, The Bonesetter’s Daughter and The Journal of Elizabeth Frankenstein that I’ve not gotten to yet. I also have In The Country of the Young, Lucky, and The Girl with the Pearl Earring waiting to be read.

Care to add anything to my list?

p.s. – I FIGURED OUT HOW TO UNDERLINE BOOK TITLES!!!  I’m very, geekily excited about that, and needed to point it out to you!  WOO HOO!!

14 Comments

Filed under Literature, reading

14 responses to “A Reading List for 2007

  1. i’m not sure what books you’ve read, but i’d recommend the color purple (alice walker), empress orchid (anchee min), flowers for algernon (daniel keyes), the curious incident of the dog in the night-time (mark haddon), and my uncle oswald (roald dahl).

    happy reading 2007!

    http://sulz.daria.be

  2. Start with Girl With the Pearl. Very good. Then watch the movie.

    You read Time Traveler’s Wife, right?

    I need to figure out what I’m reading, too. Might try Great Expectations this year or Count of Monte Cristo.

  3. Girl With a Pearl Earring was fantastic! Flowers for Algernon is on my list, too – I remember reading an excerpt when I was in High School and I liked it so much I convinced my teacher to allow me to keep the textbook. Can’t find it now, but whatever. 🙂

    I think making a list is a great idea. A few on mine are: Eragon & Eldest, The Constant Gardener, and OF COURSE Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows when it’s released! I started The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and also want to tackle Wicked. I better be gettin’ busy! And Great Expectations. Oh, such a book whore I am!!!

  4. You want geeky–I’m a Thomas Pynchon fan. Right now I’m getting into his new one, Against the Day. I’m like a garter snake swallowing a turkey egg–It’s over 1,000 pages long. I am also reading Cormac McCarthy’s The Road. Ever read him? One of the greatest novelists America ever produced. This one is bleak–post apocalyptic. Also reading The Looming Tower by Lawrence Wright, a very good book on this history of fanaticism that led to 9-11. Put the three together, and you get a pretty scary literary landscape. Ya-hoo!

    If you’ve never read Pynchon, start with V. Not with Gravity’s Rainbow. And not with Against the day. His masterpiece may be his last one, Mason & Dixon.

    I am so behind on my reading.

  5. Sulz, I’ve only read one of your suggestions – The Color Purple. I’ve had The Curious Incident on my watch list for a while, but I’ve not bought it. Yet…

    Kizz, I DID read Time Traveler’s Wife. Loved it. Time travel seems to be a big theme in my recent writing – the Outlander series is all about time travel.

    Snob, I’m almost jealous of your being able to read Wicked for the first time – I love, love, LOVE that book – so much that I have TWO copies – one to keep to myself and one to loan out. It’s chock full of great lines: “The funeral was a simple, love-her-and-shove-her affair.” How can you not LOVE that?!

    Rick, I’ve heard nothing but astoundingly good things about The Road and have put it on my wish list (I’ve got a birthday coming up, and I’m hoping it’s heavy on the paper…). Feather – who gave me the idea of this post in the first place, just finished reading Pynchon’s The Crying of Lot 49 and was disappointed with it. I’ll take your advice and start with Mason & Dixon.

    This is one of the reasons I LOVE blogging – I really enjoy getting input into places I would never think to go…

  6. Laurie

    Have you read A Prayer for Owen Meany? It’s my favorite. There’s a book my former boss recommended called One Thousand White Women, which is not racist (despite its unfortunate title) and is among the best books I’ve ever read.

    My ten-year-old son recommends reading (or rereading) all of the Harry Potter books. I concur.

    (I have no idea how you underlined those titles. You must be gifted.)

  7. I’ve not read A Prayer for Owen Meany. I’ll put it on my list – along with the One Thousand White Women, which I’ve never heard of but which I’m also adding to my list.

    I’m not at all gifted. I just noticed a little window in my WordPress new post field that said “Code,” so I opened it and tried to put in the little alligator mouths and the letter “u” and lo and behold! Underlining! Can’t figure out how to manipulate text in my comments section, though, so it seems the ability is very place-specific…

  8. Pynchon is an acquired taste–if you go right to The Crying of Lot 49, my least favorite of his novels, you’ll have a hard time. The opening chapters of V. are the best entre to this guy.

  9. I just snagged Reading Lolita in Tehran and Couldn’t Keep it to Myself by (and I quote) Wally Lamb and the women of the York Correctional Institute. Totally without her permission. I’m kind of jazzed about them. And I’ve got Barak Obama’s book about his dad, too.

    On the John Irving front I have to repeat that I keep reading his books because everyone loves them so much and so far? I still hate ’em. Cider House Rules is 600+ pages of my reading life that no one can ever return to me. The exception, however, is Widow For One Year, which I love. It is the part I love about each of his books without the other 400 pages that make me want to groom his nuts with a nutmeg grater. Owen Meany takes place in our home town, though, so it’s fun to know exactly where he’s talking about at every moment.

  10. I have Reading Lolita in Tehran, but haven’t started it. Kizz, if you finish first, let us know if you like it. Obama’s first book is great, haven’t gone out for his second one yet (it remains, unpurchased, on my Christmas List.

  11. Hello! I haven’t been here in forever (due to unforseen circumstances with computers dying on me), but I’m glad I’m catching up.

    My suggestions: The Kite Runner (a fictional autobiography of a young boy growing up in Kabul, by Khaled Hosseini), and Devil on the Cross (a political satire based in Kenya, by Ngugi wa Thiong’o).

    In other news, I found this blog while you were in the midst of your student teaching, while I’m about to start mine later this month! Very exciting times, indeed.

  12. jrh

    You have to read Owen Meany, although I mostly agree with Kizz about Irving.

    Lucky and Girl with the Pearl Earring are WELL worth your time.

    Cold Mountain, not so much.

  13. Karen, welcome back!! I HAVE read The Kite Runner and enjoyed it more than I expected to. I have never even heard of Devil on the Cross and will keep my eyes open for it the next time I’m in my favorite bookstore.

    J, I’ll pick up Owen Meany on the next bookstore trip. It seems there’s a huge consensus about Pearl Earring, so that will be my next read. I’ve gotten a lot of (pardon the pun) cold reviews about Cold Mountain. Should I just stick to the movie and call it even?

  14. After starting and never finishing A Hundred Secret Senses [so dry!], The Bonesetter’s Daughter was so much better; got through it in two days even. This is my second comment here and it’s so redundant that I keep commenting on Amy Tan. Oh well.

    Reading Lolita in Tehran was actually very good, probably better if you have read the books she critiques. She is very much obsessed with Henry James and Nabokov. It made me pick up Lolita, which I’m enjoying right now even if it is very disturbing.

Leave a Reply

