Quick Hit: Kill Me Now

I can’t even VOLUNTEER to teach!  I just got this from the summer camp I contacted in JANUARY (and again in April, and again in May, and again on Friday).

WHAT do I have to DO?!

Our summer filled up quickly with the curriculum we wanted to structure for the teens, so there was not the writing opportunity I thought there may be, and I do apologize for this. We often have so many generous and talented folks who want to offer their services to us, but it is often more the timing and program structure that will determine when or how we can use them. I am sorry if this is a disappointment. For volunteers who will be with us day in and day out, I feel it is important to give them the workshop opportunities, which can also take up more time. For instance, we had a poet willing to visit with us 2-3 days a week, so I had to jump on that and offer her the “writing blocks.” That and our Americorps VISTA has a degree in writing, so I wanted to give her an opportunity as well.

2 Comments

Filed under failure, frustrations

2 responses to “Quick Hit: Kill Me Now

  1. I predict great things. They always happen to passionate teachers. I am confident.

  2. Terry

    I’m sorry for the disappointment! It sounds like the letter writer was trying to acknowledge your disappointment, which is…nice? Anyway–a bit off topic, but will you be able to share with us what happened with the private school at which you did the six-week workshop? Or would that be too frustrating to revisit..? Just curious but also understanding if you don’t want to!

Leave a Reply

