SO?! How Did it GO?!

Apparently, it went really, REALLY well!

I got moderately dressed up (for those who care, I wore a cute blue plaid sleeveless dress with a flow-y white swing sweater and super-comfy blue suede flats) and got to the school about 20 minutes early, so I sat in my car, breathing and playing solitaire on my phone.  At about 5 minutes to 11, I walked to the building and checked in.  I was shown to a conference room and waited for a few minutes for the assistant principal to come in.

He greeted me warmly and explained that the other teachers would be joining us shortly.  The lead English teacher, who’s been a blog buddy for about 7 years (Hi, Chatty!), made an enthusiastic entrance with a huge smile, followed by the social studies teacher, who was friendly but a bit more reserved.  The science teacher was off on a field trip, “tromping around a pond” doing research with the kids about the ecology of a local body of water.  She came in just a few minutes later.

The AP did most of the talking.  He talked about the structure of the team, the incredible book purchases he’s made this year for the freshman and sophomore classes, and the philosophy and goal of the school.  He looked me in the eye and gave every indication that he’s wholly invested in seeing this experiment succeed.  I got the distinct impression that he’s a very supportive administrator.

They’re functioning as a collaborative environment where teachers actually work together (and those of you who’ve been with me for any length of time know that’s exactly what I’m looking for).  The AP emphasized the freedom that the teams have to structure not only the curriculum, but the way that time gets spent (though I’m going to have to see it in action to really understand what that means in terms of the practical application).

Everything he said sounded great, but I found myself staying quiet; I was worried about coming off as too eager.

I talked a little bit about some good lesson plans (specifically, about how much I love to teach Frankenstein, and the ways in which I combine TKaM, The Book Thief, and Letter from a Birmingham Jail).  I talked about how I always seem to fall into the role of teacher, how important social justice issues are to me both personally and professionally, and about how my entire paradigm is rooted in collaboration.  Oh, and that I’m a goddess in the kitchen.

I left feeling pretty good – not great, but pretty good – about how I did.  I felt better when Chatty sent me a message telling me that she thought it went well, too.  I felt even better when I got a call, about 20 minutes ago, asking me to come in for a second interview on Friday.

 

This might actually happen, You Guys!

 

10 Comments

Filed under colleagues, job hunting, self-analysis, speaking, success!, Teaching, winging it, Yikes!

10 responses to “SO?! How Did it GO?!

  1. Pingback: Quick Hit: Ohmygodohmygodohmygod!! | The Blue Door

  2. This is excellent news. 20 minutes later? You should be feeling great about this.

  3. Kwizgiver

    Fingers and toes and other bits and parts crossed for you! How wonderful!!!

  4. nhfalcon

    WooHoo!!! :)

  5. OKP

    WOOT! Will keep the fingers crossed!

  6. Yay! I’m so excited for you! I really hope interview #2 goes well.

    Also, I miss Chatty’s blog!

  7. Rowan

    Wonderful! I hope they realize how lucky they’d be to have you on staff!

  8. yabba dabba dooo!!!!!!! I hope that’s the correct spelling!
    This sounds very positive. I will keep my fingers crossed

  9. Gerry

    I hope it all works out for you.

Leave a Reply

