On the Eve

For the first time in more than a year, I have my first real interview for a job tomorrow at 11.

I’m finding I’m feeling the oddest combination of wicked excited and incredibly anxious.  I started having the weird anxiety dreams a couple of nights ago (had ‘em again this morning, too), and I’m actually stressing out about what to wear.

Me, stressing out about what to wear.  If you knew me in real life, you’d know that this was a sign that all is not entirely well.  Chili almost never stresses about what to wear; it’s just not what I do.  Here I am, though, worrying about finding the balance between professional and casual, classic and fun, pretty and comfortable.  Trousers or a skirt?  Capri pants or a dress?  Sleeveless and a jacket, or a button-down blouse?  Plain or patterned; colors or black and white?  And, oh, GOD, which shoes?!

It’s utterly ridiculous, and I need to stop.

For all that, though, I’m going in with no small amount of confidence.  The person who’s lead English teacher on the team has known me online for going on 7 years now, and in that time has had full access to all my blogs and my facebook page, so she knows exactly who I am and what’s important to me.  I also know – in a way that is not at all arrogant or conceited – that I am damned good at what I do.  I know it’s cliche to say that someone would be an asset to whichever outfit is smart enough to hire them, but I really feel like I have something valuable and important to offer.  Knowing these things is helping to buoy me.

So, should I wear the diamond earrings, or the pearls?

6 Comments

Filed under dumbassery, funniness, I can't make this shit up..., I love my job, job hunting, little bits of nothingness, out in the real world, really?!, self-analysis, winging it, Yikes!, You're kidding...right?

6 responses to “On the Eve

  1. Pearls. Well, that’s if you have no other bling. If you’re blingy, go with diamonds. But that might be too blingy.

    Nevermind, stick with pearls and maybe a subtle tennis bracelet or nothing else.

    Good luck! They won’t be looking at your pearls/diamonds.

  2. M

    Good luck, Chili! I’m sending you many good vibes from across the country!

  3. Good luck, Mrs. Chili! Rock it out!

  4. Sooza

    Take what you would wear on “regular” classroom day at a comparable school (perhaps even going back to your days student teaching) and kick it up one step on the formality scale. No capris (too casual).

    Other than that, wear what makes you feel good – confident and yourself. You’ll be great!

  5. Thanks, you guys! I’ll let you know – as soon as I can – how I think it went.

    Sooza, that’s the advice I give my students when they’re job hunting: “dress slightly nicer than you would if you already worked there.” That’s what I’m going to do…

  6. Wishing you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

