How’s the Job Search?

I have a very dear friend who teaches at a local-ish school.  I sent in a resume packet a few weeks ago in answer to a position that was posted on the website for an English teacher.  Given that I have connections in the school (my friend, and I graduated from there), I thought my chances for an interview were at least fairly decent.

I emailed my friend this morning to ask if I should reach out to the department head in an email.  I’m never sure if sending personal notes comes off as self-assured and professional or harassing and needy, and I wanted to get a feel for what she thought I should do.  She emailed me back with this news:

Dan started interviews yesterday and I asked him if you were given a interview and he said no.  I’m appalled by the way it’s happening.  One young intern from last year who has been teaching all year as permanent sub in a 9th grade classroom was mortified by the way he was interviewed last night by the English teachers.  He was quite upset about it.

I’ll find out more when my friend and I meet for dinner – I’m sure she’ll have a lot to say about this – but in the meantime I’m left with a couple of conflicting feelings.   I’m upset, naturally; what is it about my packet that was so deficient I didn’t even merit a call back?  Going back to my last post about professional courtesy (or, rather, the obscene lack of it), I wonder at the same time whether I want to work for a place that can’t even be minimally decent to job seekers (and I suspect that this feeling will be reinforced by my friend’s retelling of the intern’s experience).

This whole process sucks hard.

4 Comments

Filed under failure, frustrations, job hunting, really?!

4 responses to “How’s the Job Search?

  1. Pingback: Nearly Wordless Wednesday | The Blue Door

  2. Ugh! That’s so frustrating!

  3. Anonymous

    Unfortunately what I have seen lately is that some districts seem to want very new teachers, with little or no experience, that can be “trained” to do what the district wants without question. Not only are they lower on the pay scale but they don’t have tenure so are more apt to follow the “rules” about how to teach. Tenured and/or experienced teachers have (gasp) experience, opinions, and aren’t afraid to voice them (usually).
    A new teacher said they were told NOT to give an F even though the student had not done any work and failed every test. This even though the teacher was available daily for extra help and the student chose not to come in to get help. This same teacher was told they could not assign after school detention for missing detention because the missed detention was the “teacher’s detention, not the school’s detention.”

    • This is what Mr. Chili told me today as I was lamenting, over lunch, about what could be wrong with my resume. His contention is not that I’m deficient, but that I’m more than they want to have to pay for.

      Blah.

Leave a Reply

