The Journey of a Thousand Miles…

(this is a mirror post to one over at The Blue Door)

So, I started my first post-graduate class today.

Aside from the professor, who is a few years older than I, I am by far the oldest person in the room, and by a good 20 years.  The professor and I are also the only ones who are married (though she introduced herself as “partnered”), the only ones who have children (she has a 9-year-old daughter), and the only ones with any work experience.  I am also the only student taking the course for graduate-level credit.

I’m going to be interested to see how this plays out.

The first class of pretty much any class (excepting those taught by teachers who are either really super put-together or really super anxious) is often an exercise in reading the syllabus and not much else.  We read the syllabus, the professor talked about herself for a bit, and then we split into reading and presentation groups (which are two separate things, though the other girls in my presentation group are also in my reading group).

I ended up dropping about $145 on two books (what a fucking racket!) and I’ll start my reading when I get home from our weekend at the lake.

I think it’s going to be good.  I’ll document the experience at Teacher’s Education, if you’re interested.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Journey of a Thousand Miles…

  1. Donna Brumbaugh

    Mrs. Chili,
    I think you are very fortunate to be taking post graduate courses. I wish I could do this again. Do you?

  2. This is very exciting. What a way to step back and gain a wonderful experience from the other side. Your self-reflection will be most interesting to me — as I contemplate a run at the phd. I will learn much from this seeing that I too might be in a different position.

  3. I do, Donna, think that I’m very fortunate. My husband was the one who posited the idea, and he’s been really supportive of my going back to school just now. I’m worried that I’m going to be out of place in the class – there’s quite an age and experience gap between me and my classmates – but I’m going into it with focus and purpose, so I’m confident that I’ll get a lot of out it, even if I have to get to most of the learning on my own.

    Carson, I was enthusiastically and universally dissuaded from a PhD by all of my college advisors (and quite a few learned colleagues). Because my focus is not research and publication, having a PhD would likely price me out of the classroom. I take it that doesn’t hold true for scientists and mathematicians, but the impression I got from the liberal artists is that the PhD isn’t worth the effort and expense unless one wants to get into hard core academia.

    Regardless, I’m excited to be going back to school, and I will ABSOLUTELY share the experience with you here.

  4. I too have heard that (worth of a phd). I guess I feel with the papers I am writing and the reading I am doing — why not. I have ZERO ambition of leaving the secondary level. I still dream of being in a boarding school.

Leave a Reply

