TenThings Tuesday

Plus one!  The “let’s update Chili’s resume!” edition!  Here are eleven things that I added to my resume today.

1.  designed and taught core English courses to grades 9-12

2.  designed and implemented objectives and standards for core English courses

3.  designed, planned, and taught online “snow day” courses via web-based program

4.  led NECAP standardized test preparation for Language Arts; proficiencies rose three straight years

5.  designed and supervised independent study courses for students in writing, literary analysis, and film study

6.  designed and taught elective courses in poetry, film as literature, and Aliens and Vampires in Literature

7.  coached Poetry Out Loud team 2009-2012; regional finalist each year

8.  communicated with parents via email and in-person conferences; published a weekly informational newsletter for the school community

9.  ran quarterly book fairs at Barnes and Noble; stocked, tracked, and maintained school’s book supply

10.  Led the Socratic Society club’s weekly meetings

11.  chaperoned out-of-school activities

Now, are any of you any good at writing cold-contact cover letters?

5 Comments

Filed under composition, doing my own homework, I can't make this shit up..., job hunting, winging it

5 responses to “TenThings Tuesday

  1. I’m not sure how good I am at writing cold-contact cover letters, given that I’ve never done it, but I do believe I’m an excellent editor / second pair of eyes. I also have tons of free time on my hands these days. Feel free to email me if I can be of any service at all!

  2. Rowan

    I’m an excellent editor also. I’ll be glad to help in any way I can.

  3. I saw it and think it is very impressive!!! Cannot wait to chat with you about it.

  4. K

    I’d also be happy to run eyes over your resume/cover letter if you’d like. It’s nice to be able to let my tech writing/human resources skills out of the stable to stretch their legs. And if I can help you I would very much like to be able to do so.

  5. Anonymous

    Get rid of the “snow day” part, leave it as online courses.

Leave a Reply

