When One Door Closes….

… another opens.

Right?… RIGHT?!

One door has been pretty squarely closed.  I was informed last week that my position at CHS will not be renewed in the fall.  I’m still reeling from that announcement (I absolutely DID NOT see it coming and was, in fact, told on numerous occasions and by more than one person that it wasn’t), and I’m not nearly clear-headed enough to write about it yet, but I will.

For now, I’m going day-to-day.  I cleaned out my classroom today; my entire professional life is now taking up my husband’s half of the garage.  I’m going to email my boss at Local U. to let him know that my availability to teach freshman English has just opened up, and I’ll be submitting a couple of (probably too late) applications to a couple of places, though I expect to have a pretty light schedule for the next school year; I can’t imagine I’ll find a position this late in the game.

Regardless, I’m holding myself open to whatever possibilities are in store for me, and trying to reestablish my center.

8 Comments

Filed under ethics, failure, frustrations, I can't make this shit up..., job hunting, really?!, winging it, Yikes!, You're kidding...right?

8 responses to “When One Door Closes….

  1. Just… wow. “I’m sorry” doesn’t really cut it; being blind-sided is one of the worst feelings ever. I know that you’ll look forward and not back, will keep passing the open windows, and will find your rightful place again.

  2. Crap! Un-f’n-believable!!!I feel for you. I went through a similar situation. Hang in there, fasten your seat belt, and keep posting. I am sending you my love and support. You are awesome!

  3. Knighton

    I do not even know how to respond to this! Wow–just wow! I am sorry, and I wish you the best of luck.

  4. Meaghan

    I’m just a random reader, but also work in education. I have to say that even without knowing you in real life, your school is losing an asset. Hang in there, you will find your center again. And wow – it really, really sucks. I’m so very sorry for you!

  5. Donna

    Mrs. Chili, you are a valuable, dedicated and inspiring education professional, and I have learned a lot from reading your blog. I wish I could do half what you do!! I’ve admired your university work. Be positive–you will find another position!!

  6. Anonymous

    Am really sorry to hear this – I read your blog avidly and you always amaze me with your level of care and thoughtfulness – I agree with the others who say that your school has lost someone really valuable. I can only imagine how hurt and shocked you are right now. I’m sure, though, that you will find other opportunites and that other doors will open for you. Wishing you all the very best.

  7. OKP

    I’m so sorry! Like the reader above, I’m convinced simply from your blog posts how valuable you are as a teacher. Stay strong.

  8. Whoa, that is not okay with me. :(

    Sending hugs and prayers to you. Keep us posted – we’re cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

