Humbled and Honored

A couple of weeks ago, fermat sent me an email asking if I’d like to be added to his holiday card list.  The idea tickled me, and he offered to take my work address if I wasn’t comfortable giving out my home address, so that’s what I gave him.  I didn’t really think much about it after I sent my delighted reply.

This afternoon, one of my coworkers handed me a box that had arrived in the mail.  I opened it and was astounded to find Hermione’s time turner!

image credit

There was a packing slip in the box, but I didn’t immediately recognize the sender’s name.  It took me about ten minutes, but the email exchange popped into my head, so I went back to look to see if fermat had signed his real name and, in fact, he HAD!

This wonderful, perfect stranger took time (and no small amount of money!) to send me an incredibly thoughtful and wildly generous gift.

I have always maintained that the primary reason I keep blogs is because of the community they bring to me.  I was reminded again, in a very tangible and concrete way, just how giving and supportive and awesome that community is.  I am humbled by all of you, and I’m grateful for your presence in my life.

9 Comments

Filed under admiration, colleagues, out in the real world, the good ones, You're kidding...right?

9 responses to “Humbled and Honored

  1. M

    That is incredibly sweet! I really think one of the best things that has come out of writing a blog is the group of people you meet. I’ve made several new friends from all over the country and I wouldn’t trade that for anything!

  2. You’re welcome. One small thing though. You’re using the wrong pronoun. I’m a “he.” :P

  3. WHOOPS! Fixed that! Sorry, fermat!

  4. Pingback: Quick Hit: Gifted « The Blue Door

  5. Cool gift….always thought that was a nifty piece of jewelry!

  6. M. Hunter

    Wooow! That was really nice of him!! Such an awesome gift.

  7. Laurie B

    Mrs. Chili, I just love that you share what you share and that it comes back to you in so many different ways. The heart that gives, gathers. Cool and sweet work there, fermat.

  8. MHunter Experience

    Happy Friday! Here is another gift! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blog Award! : )

    Check it out! http://iliveiloveiteach.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/a-christmas-surprise/

    ~M. Hunter
    http://www.mhunterexperience.wordpress.com
    http://www.iliveiloveiteach.wordpress.com

  9. Pingback: The Patron Saint of Charter High School | A Teacher’s Education

Leave a Reply

