Wishing Time Away

All my adult life, I’ve never been one to wish time away.  I try to be ever present in the moment and to engage as fully in the now as I can, because I understand that time goes by too quickly as it is, and wishing it away means I’m not paying attention to where I am and what I’m experiencing.

I’ve got to tell you, though, that I’m jonesing for December like nobody’s business.

My Local U freshman writing class is KILLING me this year.  This is, without exaggeration, the sorriest group of kids I’ve ever encountered.

I mean it; it’s like a room of dead fish in there Monday and Wednesday nights.  I’m energetic, I’m excited, I’m performing for them, and they’re sitting there, mouths slightly ajar, staring at me with vacant eyes and listless expressions.  They seem to think that every question I ask is rhetorical and I have to actually CALL on kids to answer me – though half the time, they don’t have an answer; it’s as if they never heard the question.  Even when I played a game with them, they were dull and disengaged.

My only consolation is that I’m not the only one having this problem.  I’m engaged in correspondence with my office mate (we have vastly different schedules, so we communicate with notes left on the desk in our teensy-tiny “office”), and she told me that ALL freshman adjuncts that she’s spoken to have been having the damndest time trying to infuse some life into their classes.  My misery is loving her company; I was worried that it was just me.

I’m at wits’ end with this class, and I find myself not only dreading Mondays and Wednesdays, but feeling stressed and anxious the rest of the week, too.  The class is over December 7th, and I’m literally counting the days until I don’t have to worry about this anymore.

3 Comments

Filed under colleagues, concerns, failure, frustrations, General Griping, Local U., really?!

3 responses to “Wishing Time Away

  1. What a struggle. I’m sorry you are having a dud of a class.

  2. PW

    I’ve got the opposite problem–my current graduate seminar is fully of lively people, but the instructor has a way of making any discussion dull and disjointed. I am counting down the days until I don’t have to jump through his silly hoops anymore. He’s even scheduled one class to be a social gathering…which we’re all dreading. How sad is that?

    • Oh, NO! I’m SO sorry! I remember having classes like that – I was super excited about the course, but the instructor was the human equivalent of chilly and grey dishwater. Blah.

Leave a Reply

