Fingers Crossed!

I’m in the process of trying to reach Leif Enger, the author of the gorgeous Peace Like a River, which my juniors, seniors, and I are reading as our culminating novel for this year.

image credit

My goal is that Mr. Enger will consent to an Skype conference with my class to discuss this beautifully written novel, his craft of writing, and life in general.  I’ve sent messages through a couple of avenues; I’m hoping one of them gets through.

image credit

Wish me luck, would you?

5 Comments

Filed under about writing, admiration, book geek, great writing, I love my job, out in the real world, Questions, winging it

5 responses to “Fingers Crossed!

  1. Donna

    Good luck Mrs. Chili! You have great teaching ideas for your students–I hope they will benefit from hearing Mr. Enger. Also, congrats on your adjunct teaching. You deserve it!

  2. We teach that book at my school too! It’s so beautiful and touching. :)

  3. Donna, thanks. I’m really excited to go back to Local U.

    Lara, it IS beautiful and touching, but it’s NOT a pretty story. I think that’s what I love so much about it – that Enger can portray this poor (and kind of desperate) family in its worst period with such grace and elegance.

  4. fermat

    I picked up the book at my local library and it’s really good. I love the religious allegory, the family as Jesus, and deconstructing of the use of breath/air in the novel. If you would indulge me, I would love to send you some thoughts about it when I’m done reading. Probably in a day or two.

    • You’re kidding, right? Not only will I indulge you, I might ask you if you want to Skype into one of my junior/senior classes while we discuss the novel….

Leave a Reply

