Grammar Wednesday

GRRRR!!

I know I’ve blogged about this before (in fact, I think it was about a Cheerios box), but I’m writing about it again because people STILL don’t get it.

I am sitting on the couch, working while my husband is watching t.v. A match.com ad came on and I heard, “One in five relationships start online.”

Um, no. ONE in five relationships STARTS online. “One” is SINGULAR. It requires a SINGULAR verb. ONE relationship STARTS; FIVE relationships START.

Just for verification, I went online and discovered that the same sentence is on the opening screen of their website, too.

Advertising companies really need someone to double-check their grammar.

2 Comments

Filed under bad grammar, failure, I can't make this shit up..., out in the real world, really?!, Yikes!

2 responses to “Grammar Wednesday

  1. Trish Cortes

    This is the way that one teacher becomes a GOD! Yeah! I would like that everyone teacher think as you do!! I read some of your notes, it’s great!
    Trish-Mexico

Leave a Reply

