SCORE!

This seems to be the year for kids coming back to tell me that they get why I jump up and down on them about stuff they don’t want to do. It’s awesome.

A while ago, CHS instituted a community-wide, weekly vocabulary word contest. Someone (usually me) chooses a word (I often choose from the SAT website) that the entire community has to define and use in a CHS-related sentence. Elaina, the Goddess of the Front Desk, chooses a winner each week (which inspires the kids to write funny sentences, because we all know how much Elaina loves to laugh), and I announce that winner in morning announcements on Friday. It used to be a voluntary thing, but then a couple of us started issuing it as a for-credit assignment. As everyone has at least ONE of the teachers who requires it for a class, every kid in the school should be doing this.

Nearly every kid in the school blows it off. In fact, I just chased down a couple of students on Friday because they hadn’t done the damned CHS word in weeks, and those zeros were starting to stack up. I mean, really?! It’s ONE sentence, once a week! Gah!

Anyway, this was in my inbox this afternoon. It’s from Collette, who’s a junior in my English classes:

Hi Ms Chili!

I took my SATs this morning and I just wanted to say thank you SO MUCH for having us do the CHS word every week. It pretty much saved my butt in the reading/writing parts of the test. There were at least 10 from this year and last year in one section alone, and if I hadn’t known how to properly use them in a sentence I would have been completely screwed.
I always wondered what the point of it was other than to just be fun, and now I know. :)

Warn the Juniors!

Hope you’re having a pleasant weekend :)

Best wishes,
Collette

Isn’t that FANTASTIC?! I’ve sent her an email back asking if I can read this in morning announcements on Monday; SO many kids aren’t doing the weekly vocabulary word, and I wonder if this might inspire some of them to do it.

4 Comments

Filed under colleagues, fun, I love my job, success!, the good ones

4 responses to “SCORE!

  1. If this was Facebook I’d hit the “Like” button. :)

  2. Ain’t it great? I think that the thing to remember is that for every ONE student who finds a way to thank you for a job well done, there are probably many more who just don’t find the opportunity to say it – but, they know.

    Bask in it.

  3. It’s too bad more of them don’t get it while they are still in school, although if one is speaking up, there are many more in the wings just like her. Most people don’t tell you the positive things, only the complainers are vocal, unfortunately.

  4. What? You actually had a point and weren’t just being sadistic? Weird.

Leave a Reply

