Ready or Not…

… here we go!

Everyone in our neighborhood goes back to school tomorrow. My room is ready, one of my four syllabi is set in stone (two others are almost ready), I’ve written my speech for orientation tomorrow, and I’m feeling like, while I’m not quite as set as I’d like to be, I’m set enough to at least start taxiing down the runway.

The girls are doing a little stressing out; they never made it to the school to scope out their lockers and try their combinations, so we’re going to get up extra-early (yeah, right) to see if we can sneak in a bit before school starts so they can get their bearings without having to fight the proverbial herd. Other than that, though, they’re ready, too; school supplies are bought, a new outfit was obtained today, and they’re already thinking about what activities they’re going to join this year.

I have a good feeling about this year, both personally and professionally. I think it’s going to be great, and I’m eager to get started.

6 Comments

Filed under little bits of nothingness

6 responses to “Ready or Not…

  1. Hope the year is awesome!!

  2. We’ve been in school for about 3 weeks, now and we are finally settling into a routine!

  3. Darci

    eeek, I am so not ready for the year yet…but thanks to LAUSD and no money I am not starting until Sept 13. Setting up the room this week and have a skeleton of a map for the Narrative Unit.

  4. Wishing you an awesome beginning of the year!

  5. Good luck Chili! I have to go on a two day orientation “retreat”. I should be happy. I get to stay in a hotel overnight, and eat free food, but I hate being away from my husband and my bed.

    I HATE hotels. I only stay in them because my husband loves them. =P So staying in one without him just seems pointless.

    Parents come in for open house on Wednesday, and school starts on the following Monday. Can’t wait to hear how it goes for you!

  6. We are in our 3rd week of classes. Open house is tonight and I am still not sure what I am doing or what I am going to say; I am thinking about this: “Hi, my name is Edward and I am liberal; I want to indoctrinate your student.”

Leave a Reply

