Decisions, Decisions

Dear Readers, I need your help.

I have the choice of two workshops this summer.  One is the Belfer program for teachers at the US Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington DC (which, really, is the fallback because it’s pretty clear at this point that I wasn’t chosen for the teacher fellowship there).  The other is a week long writing workshop offered at a very prestigious boarding school relatively close to my home (yes, Carson, that one).

Both will cost me about the same amount of money; the DC workshop is free, but I’ll have to pay for transportation, lodging, and food.  The boarding school program costs about a grand, so I figure it’s a wash financially.

Both workshops will give me a lot of material – intellectual and concrete – to bring back to my classroom.  Both will be very impressive on my resume.

The DC workshop is three days; the boarding school program is a week.

Which would YOU choose?

13 Comments

Filed under analysis, Mrs. Chili as Student, Questions

13 responses to “Decisions, Decisions

  1. Holocaust because (believe it or not) I HATE to write.

    Your turn. Which would you want? I’m doing calculus.

  2. The writing workshop!

  3. Have you ever been to DC? Because if you haven’t I’d go there.

  4. Can you apply for the teacher fellowship again next year? If so, I’d go with the writing workshop. If not, DC! :)

  5. I’d choose the writing workshop.

  6. Rowan

    My friend always says this to me when I ask a question like that: “You already know which one, is it validation you are wanting? Trust yourself.”

  7. Darci

    I would go for the writing workshop as you really wanted the Fellowship which you will reapply for next year.

  8. Kiki

    Based on the length I’d go to the Writing Workshop, but on the other hand the Holocaust Workshop sounds pretty awesome and you’d get to take a trip.

  9. Rowan, very often, I AM just looking for validation, but in this case, I’m at a crossroads. I could go with either choice.

    I think, though, that I’m leaning toward the writing workshop. It’s more immediately relevant to the work I’m doing at CHS, and it’s local. My family and I want to take a trip (and we’d be perfectly happy making that a trip to DC), but I think Darci’s right; I really DO want that teacher fellowship, so I think I’m going to hold off and see if I can score that the next time it comes up.

    My decision’s not made yet, though, so if you’ve got more advice, please bring it!

  10. Though your passion is the Holocaust one, I would aim for the boarding school PD since the fellowship did not workout; I will say this, though, check with that boarding school ASAP due to space issues. It fills up. In the end, it is a win win for you.

  11. I’ve got an email in to the school to see if there’s space. If there is, I’ll take it.

    That’s what makes this choice so hard; either way, I win.

  12. Mrs. Chili ~
    I am seriously lovin’ your blog. Writer’s Workshop is always good …
    ~Christy

Leave a Reply

