Daily Archives: March 1, 2010

Back at It

For as much as I love being on vacation, I really miss being at work.  I’m pleased to be back in the classroom with my kids again.

I started today with a guest lecturer.  I managed to figure out how to get Carson into my junior-senior English classroom via Skype, and it was about three different levels of wonderful.  The kids (well, most of them) were engaged and participatory, they were thoughtful and perceptive, and the technology worked without a glitch – it was great, and I can’t wait to do it again.  Anyone want to help me teach The Handmaid’s Tale?

We’ve started working on sentences and sentence structure in the grammar class.  I can’t wait to get beyond this stuff and move on to actually writing; I can tell the kids are bored, but they’re also not getting the whole “demonstrate to me that you get it” idea, either, so we’ve got to keep doing it until they get it right.

On Friday, I go to a seminar about slavery in pre-Revolutionary War America.  I’ve still got to figure out what my kids are going to do while I’m gone.  While I’ll miss them, I’m really looking forward to the class; I love being a student.

8 Comments

Filed under lesson planning, little bits of nothingness, Mrs. Chili as Student, Teaching