Daily Archives: October 5, 2009

Monday Meme

Monday Meme is a feature at The Blue Door, but this one felt more in line with the themes of this space, so I’m putting it here.  Thanks go to, Kwizgiver, from whom I shamelessly boosted the questions..

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack? I don’t tend to snack while reading.  In fact, all of my best reading happens in bed, at night, after teeth have been brushed…

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you? I have actually – and repeatedly -  been the recipient of crap from my English Teacher buddies about how I mark my books.  Books are SACRED and must NOT be defaced in any way – I don’t underline passages, I don’t highlight vocabulary words, I don’t write notes in the margins.  Instead, all of my notation happens on sticky notes, which get stuck to the sides of the pages.  Depending on how good the book is (and how often I’ve read it), the preponderance sticky notes may make the leading edge of the book wider than the spine, as has happened with my favorite copy of Frankenstein.  Observe:

photo

photo

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Did I not just tell you that books are sacred?  Bookmarks, ALWAYS.  Sometimes they’re actual book marks, sometimes they’re random bits of paper, but never, EVER dog-ears.  Ever.

Laying the book flat open? I try not to do this too much, but sometimes I’ll lay the book open if I’m going to come right back to it (and I’ve lost track of my bookmark).

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both? Both; though, as an English teacher, I tend to read more fiction than non-fiction.

Hard copy or audio books? Hard copy (but paper-back).  I keep meaning to get audio books to listen to in the car, but the truth is that my six minute commute just doesn’t support audio book listening…

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point? Unless I’m REALLY wrecked (remember, most of my reading happens in bed!) I’ll read to the end of a chapter or a section – there’s got to be a clear stopping point for me to quit reading.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away? I tend to look words up right away, mostly because I have dictionary.com loaded right into my iPhone…

What are you currently reading? You want a LIST?! Okay; I’m reading The Book Thief with my I/II kids, The Sunflower with my III/IV kids, Echo in the Bone is on my bedside table, and I’ve got House of Sand and Fog going in my Readers’ Workshops at school. I USED to have I Know This Much is True and The Color of Water going, too, but the fact that I have to do a lot of reading with my Local U. class, too – mostly essays and short stories – meant that I just couldn’t sustain that kind of quantity.

What is the last book you bought? I bought two books; Great Books for High School Kids and A Long Way Gone; Memoirs of a Boy Soldier. Depending on how it goes, I might just make that last one required reading for NEXT year’s III/IV kids…

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time? Um…… Yeah, I already answered that one…

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read? Bedtime, though I’ll read in any spare moment. I actually LIKE to wait in doctor’s offices…

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books? Well, I usually prefer stand-alones, though my favorite books of all times are a series.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over? The Outlander series, without question. Literary crack, those books…

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?) I like Kwizgiver’s answer, “by pile,” though the truth of the matter is that I actually have an honest-to-Goddess library, and those books are ordered by genre, then further ordered alphabetically by the author’s last name (I know, I know…). The books that I’m reading (or using in classes), however, are plied on my desk in the kitchen.

Favorite genre? Literature, fiction, and humor. I fell in love a while ago with Bill Bryson, and I’ve found a place in my heart for David Sedaris. Books that can make me laugh until my eyes water are treasures.

Happy Monday (and happy reading!), Everyone!

6 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, reading