Daily Archives: October 1, 2009

Grrrrr

My freshmen are pissing me off.

I am nothing if not very, very clear about what I expect my students to do.  Exceedingly clear.  Crystal, in fact.  Annoyingly, comprehensively, astoundingly clear.  Clear to the point of not only telling the students what I want them to do, but also writing it on the board AND posting the assignment (in full and articulate detail) on our class website.

And still, they come to class unprepared.

It’s enough to send me right over the edge.

Take today, for example.  They were supposed to come to class with two things; a second draft of their papers, and a copy of The Book Thief to begin reading in class.

Can you guess how many of them came completely prepared?

Up until now, things have been pretty easygoing and fun in class.  Today, I laid it down.  I think that some of them are a little afraid of me right now, and I’m perfectly okay with that.  They’re not kindergarteners anymore; I fully intend to hold them accountable for their stuff, especially when I’m being so – have I mentioned it already – so incredibly clear about what I’m expecting.

8 Comments

Filed under dumbassery, failure, frustrations, Teaching, That's your EXCUSE?!, You're kidding...right?