Daily Archives: September 17, 2009

Seal of Approval

One of the students at CHS has one of those fathers.

I heard about this man long before his daughter Sandy became a member of my English class.  The words associated with him ran along the lines of “helicopter” and “intrusive” and “persistent,” and “difficult,” and none of them were said with glad enthusiasm.  Needless to say, when I saw this man’s daughter’s name on my new class roster, I was a little nervous.

I decided to stuff it, though; I wasn’t going to cower under the gaze of a hyper-involved father.  I know my job and I do it well, so I figured I wasn’t going to allow myself to be intimidated.  I’d just go about my business and get in touch with dad when – or if – the time came.

It seems the time came a lot sooner than I was expecting.

I sent home a permission slip the other day so that I can show an R-rated film in my class.  I included on the slip a brief explanation of my reasons for wanting to show the film and bullet points for what I expected the students to do with the experience.

Sandy’s permission slip came back with a note attached.  I got that feeling in the pit of my stomach (you know that feeling?) when I saw that there was commentary on the slip, so I steeled myself before reading it.

Imagine my surprise when I read that dad heartily approved of both my choice of movie AND my reasons for showing it.  He was encouraged, he said, to see that I was expecting such high-level thinking from my students, and added that I have his full support.

I guess I made a good impression.

3 Comments

Filed under concerns, critical thinking, film as literature, I love my job, parental units, success!, Teaching