Back at It

I’m going to pop in to the composition staff meeting at Local U. after a lunch date with my husband this afternoon, and I’m very much looking forward to it.

I left Local U. last semester when my boss told me that there weren’t enough classes to keep any of the adjuncts, but that I shouldn’t move out of my office because I’d be back in the fall.  He also told me to keep coming to the staff meetings if that was something I felt I wanted to do.  It was, but it turned out that my email address was dropped from the notification list and, to be quite honest, Tuesdays were the only days I had completely off, so I wasn’t crazy about the idea of dropping everything in the middle of the day to try to find a parking space in the snow-buried lots and make my way to a drafty building for an hour’s worth of talk about a class I wasn’t teaching.

Bad attitude, I know, but there you have it.

Now, though?  Now I’m excited about going back.  I’ve put my experiences with TCC (mostly) behind me and am looking forward to re-integrating into the community of Local U.  I’m going to check in with my office (which has been occupied by a grad student this semester; I know my stuff is still there, but I have no idea what kind of space I’ll have to use for myself) and touch base with some of the people that I’ve discovered, once I stopped to think about it, I really miss.

I don’t know if I’ll SAY anything in today’s meeting – I suspect that, as a relatively “new” face in the crowd, it might be best for me to be quiet for a bit – but I am very much looking forward to being there, to thinking about Freshman Writing and how I’m going to structure my classes this fall, and to seeing some of the people I respect and admire.  More than anything else, though, I think I’m most looking forward to thinking of myself as a “real” teacher again.  I haven’t yet recovered all of the wind that the last TCC knocked out of me – the main reason I’m going to start attending these meetings again is to feel good about myself and the work that I do.

2 Comments

Filed under colleagues, composition, I love my job, Learning, Local U., self-analysis, Teaching

2 responses to “Back at It

  1. jrh

    I know it’s early, but when you know what sections you’ll have in the fall, let me know. I’d love to get any of my students heading up there into your courses.

  2. sphyrnatude

    watch out! you might actually get some real students now!

    ‘course, the reality is that ALL students are real, but they may have different goals. I suspect that many of the students you have at Local U are going to be similar to the ones at your last gig, but there are always the shining stars…

    enjoy! (and a bit of envy)

Leave a Reply

